Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
**Business Subject Pages and Assets for Reuse: Patents
main boxes and pages for reuse in business subject libguides
Patent Searching
- The USPTO Patent DatabasesSearch the full text of patents 1976 - present; patents issued 1790 - 1975 are searchable by patent number or issue date. The Patent Application Database contains all patent applications published since 2001.
- EspacenetA free patent search tool, including 80 million patent documents from the European Patent Office, the USPTO, and other countries worldwide, searchable by full text.
- WIPO PatentScopeWorld Intellectual Property Organization: PatentScope for Searching International and National Patent Collections
- DOE PatentsFrom the 1940's to today... A central collection of US Department of Energy patent information
- Trademark NavigatorA comprehensive trademark prosecution tool that provides legal professionals with analysis, forms, charts, news, information about foreign jurisdictional requirements, TTAB cases, and other legal reference material.
Understanding Patents
- WIPO PCT FAQsWorld Intellectual Property Organization: Protecting your Inventions Abroad: Frequently Asked Questions About the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT)
Patent Search Tutorials and Strategies
Legal and Status Information
Medical Databases
- UpToDateClinical resource specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice and to do so quickly and easily so that it can be used right at the point of care for a broad range of hospital and medical specialties. Access: Available in EPIC or onsite at UNC Health Chapel Hill & Hillsborough locations when on Skynet.
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
Additional Resources
For UNC Inventors
- UNC Office of Technology CommercializationOur Mission: To accelerate the translation of important ideas into meaningful products and services for North Carolina, the world, and the University.
- Patent Landscape and Market Research Service (Innovate Carolina)Wondering if you’ve got the next great invention? Is it really novel? Who would buy it as a product or a service? What funding opportunities exist that may help get your invention from lab to market?
The Market Landscape Research Service, available to current UNC-Chapel Hill faculty, staff, and students at no cost, helps you assess your technology, the marketplace, as well as potential investment funding.
The service offers custom analytical reports that provide a strategic view of the competitive landscape, current and projected market conditions, as well as opportunities for grants and funding to complete research and launch new products, services, and businesses.
For Inventors
Contact for Help
Cynthia Reifsnider
Contact:
Innovate Carolina Junction
136 E Rosemary St, Suite 100
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Website
136 E Rosemary St, Suite 100
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Business Research Consultant
Nancy Lovas
Contact:
Davis Library
Subjects: Accounting, Banking, Business, Company Information, Country Economics, Country Information, Economic Data/Statistics, Economics, Economics Literature, Entrepreneur/Small Business Information, Global Business, Industry Information, Investment Information, Marketing, Patents, POLI: Political Science, Political Science