**Business Subject Pages and Assets for Reuse: Company Research Resources
main boxes and pages for reuse in business subject libguides
Purpose of Research Guide
This guide curates research and information sources for business. Use the side menu to navigate to relevant sources.
Want guidance?
- Email a business research consultant/librarian:
Nancy Lovas, Davis Library: nancy64@email.unc.edu
Kenan Flagler Research Librarian: Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu - Schedule a consultation appointment with a business librarian.
Public Companies
- OrbisCovers millions of publicly traded and privately held companies from around the world. Company records include directory facts, financial and ownership details, subsidiaries, names and titles for executives and directors, M&A deals, etc. Privately held companies do not have financial information.
Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser.
Note: Disable pop-up blockers to use this resource.
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsContains directory information for millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and consumers (white pages). Use Consumers/Lifestyles data for market research and customer discovery. Search by company name, geographic area, industry codes (NAICS/SIC), sales volume, etc. Create custom lists of up to 250 records that you can download to Excel.
Note: Users are not permitted access from IP addresses outside of the United States. Download limit is 250 records. - OsirisContains information on over 110,000 publicly traded companies, banks, and insurance companies from around the world, including financial statement data. Provides ownership, subsidiaries, earnings estimates, stock data. Report formats reflect accounting procedures in the major world regions.
Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser.
Note: Disable pop-up blockers to use this resource.
- IBISWorld Industry ReportsThe US Company Benchmarking Profiles analyze thousands of public and private companies. Profiles consist of a company overview and breakdown of performance within industries of operation. Includes company financials, an industry market share breakdown, an industry competitor matrix, SWOT analysis, Products and Services, and Key Company Benchmarks.
Access by clicking "Company Research" in top navigation menu.
- CB InsightsProvides information and independent analysis of private companies in a wide range of industries. A special focus on the financing, and mergers and acquisitions of these companies through private investors and venture capital and private equity firms.
Note:Users must register an account with a UNC email address. Contact Kenan Flagler Library Research Services at Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu with questions.
- Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)Capital IQ allows users to search for and screen for information on companies including in-depth financial information on publicly traded companies, information on investment firms, biographical information on corporate professionals, and transactions in both the public and private capital markets by a very wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executive’s biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. (Source Vendor Web site)
Information can be exported to Excel.
SPECIAL NOTE: Because of licensing restrictions: Access to Capital IQ is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School. - EuropagesFind information on some 3 million companies in 35 European countries. Search by company name, industry, country, or region of country. Each entry includes addresses, phone numbers, maybe an email contact, maybe a map of the location. You must select one of 26 languages before searching.
- SEDAROfficial site that provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by Canadian public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system. SEDAR is a rough equivalent to the SEC’s EDGAR files but it is for Canadian companies.
Private Companies
- OrbisCovers millions of publicly traded and privately held companies from around the world. Company records include directory facts, financial and ownership details, subsidiaries, names and titles for executives and directors, M&A deals, etc. Privately held companies do not have financial information.
Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser
Note: Disable pop-up blockers to use this resource. - CB InsightsProvides information and independent analysis of private companies in a wide range of industries. A special focus on the financing, and mergers and acquisitions of these companies through private investors and venture capital and private equity firms.
Note:Users must register an account with a UNC email address. Contact Kenan Flagler Library Research Services at Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu with questions.
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsContains directory information for millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and consumers (white pages). Use Consumers/Lifestyles data for market research and customer discovery. Search by company name, geographic area, industry codes (NAICS/SIC), sales volume, etc. Create custom lists of up to 250 records that you can download to Excel.
Note: Users are not permitted access from IP addresses outside of the United States. Download limit is 250 records. - IBISWorld Industry ReportsThe US Company Benchmarking Profiles analyze thousands of public and private companies. Profiles consist of a company overview and breakdown of performance within industries of operation. Includes company financials, an industry market share breakdown, an industry competitor matrix, SWOT analysis, Products and Services, and Key Company Benchmarks.
Access by clicking "Company Research" in top navigation menu.
- Hoover's Company Records (in Business Market Research Collection)Provides profiles of 19,000 large private companies from around the world.
- Nexis UniCovers international companies through its Company Dossier.
- Roster of Secretaries of State/Lieutenant GovernorsAll 50 states make some level of corporate and business filings available online. In a few instances only limited information (such as name availability) is retrievable. The majority of the states, however, use their Web presence to disseminate a range of public business records -- and most of them offer access at no charge. This roster is from the National Association of Secretaries of State and includes the 50 states, DC and U.S. territories.
Company & Financial Data
Need to download and analyze large sets of company or financial data? Start here.
- LSEG WorkspaceSource for information on publicly traded U.S. and international companies: summary financial data with links to company filings, key ratios actual and forward estimates, stock pricing data, key corporate events, officers and directors, analyst rating, and analyst "Aftermarket" reports (formerly Investext). Aftermarket Reports contain full-text industry and company reports written by investment bank analysts. More than 1.2 million reports available back to 1982.
NOTE: Users must first self-register with their UNC email for a user account before accessing this resource. Please consult: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420 for detailed directions on self-registering for a user account.
User must always authenticate, even when on campus. Please contact Nancy Lovas with any questions. - EikonProvides daily pricing, volume, and performance information on equities, market stock and bond indices, macroeconomic data series, foreign exchange rates, daily and weekly interest rates, fixed income instruments, financial and commodity futures and options contracts. Time coverage varies, but many series are available in daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annual intervals for up to 10 years or longer.
- Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)Capital IQ allows users to search for and screen for information on companies including in-depth financial information on publicly traded companies, information on investment firms, biographical information on corporate professionals, and transactions in both the public and private capital markets by a very wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executive’s biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. (Source Vendor Web site)
Information can be exported to Excel.
SPECIAL NOTE: Because of licensing restrictions: Access to Capital IQ is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School. - COMPUSTAT GlobalAnnual and quarterly financial and market data for hundreds of data items, ratios and concepts. Covers publicly traded companies. Data sets have been designed to reflect the varieties of actual reporting practices used across the globe, while allowing for minimal normalization and establishing consistency on an item by item basis for Non-North American companies.
Compustat Global is accessed through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
- FactivaContains major global newspapers, business newspapers and magazines, trade and industry journals, prominent newswires, and network broadcast transcripts. In the Companies/Markets tab, there are global company reports, limited industry reports, and market data. The results pages allow robust filtering, and there is live chat help.
- Value Line Research CenterSource for investment research covering thousands of stocks, mutual funds, daily options, and convertible issues. The Value Line Investment Survey ranks stocks on many metrics and includes historical and projected prices, financials, and a quarterly analyst opinion. The Investment Education section includes a glossary, and the Value Line University introduces basics of investment, analysis, and the stock market.
- OsirisContains information on over 110,000 publicly traded companies, banks, and insurance companies from around the world, including financial statement data. Provides ownership, subsidiaries, earnings estimates, stock data. Report formats reflect accounting procedures in the major world regions.
Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser
Mergers and Acquisitions
- CB InsightsProvides information and independent analysis of private companies in a wide range of industries. A special focus on the financing, and mergers and acquisitions of these companies through private investors and venture capital and private equity firms.
Note:Users must register an account with a UNC email address. Contact Kenan Flagler Library Research Services at Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu with questions.
- VitalLaw (CCH IntelliConnect)Provides comprehensive federal and state tax information, including tax codes, regulations, court cases, IRS publications, editorial commentary and explanation.
- Orbis M&ACovers mergers and acquisitions, initial public offerings, private equity, and venture capital deals and rumors. Global coverage includes European deals from 1997, North American deals from 2000, and Other Global Areas deals from 2003. Search by deal elements such as deal type, geography, industry, company financials, and multiples. Analyze deals in tables and graphs.
Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser
Note: Disable pop-up blockers to use this resource. - SDC Platinum
Note: SDC Platinum is now a module that can be added to an LSEG Workspace account. Please contact Nancy Lovas to have the module added to your account. If you do not have an LSEG Workspace account you can request one here https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420. Then email Nancy with your request for SDC access.
- Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)Capital IQ allows users to search for and screen for information on companies including in-depth financial information on publicly traded companies, information on investment firms, biographical information on corporate professionals, and transactions in both the public and private capital markets by a very wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executive’s biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. (Source Vendor Web site)
Information can be exported to Excel.
SPECIAL NOTE: Because of licensing restrictions: Access to Capital IQ is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School.
Historical Company Research
- Mergent ArchivesIncludes corporate histories, financial statements, subsidiaries, long-term debt, and company officers and directors. Resources include the Transportation Manual 1909-present; Public Utility Manual 1914-2007; Industrial Manual 1920-present; Bank and Finance Manual 1928-present; OTC Industrial Manual 1970-present; International Manual 1981-present; OTC Unlisted Manual 1986-present; and Municipal and Government Manual 1955-present.
- Mergent Historical Annual ReportsContains annual reports in PDF for companies in the U.S., Canada, and some European countries. Coverage varies by company. Some reports are from more than 100 years ago.
- Directory of Corporate Archives USA and CanadaThis includes companies that maintain their historical records themselves, as well as companies that contract with historical consulting firms to maintain their archives collections for them, and libraries that contain business records.
- Annual Reports at Academic Business LibrariesThis database was created and is maintained by Purdue University Libraries. It presents a merged list of the corporate annual reports held at twelve university libraries and can be searched by keyword or by university.
Executive Biographies
- OsirisContains information on over 110,000 publicly traded companies, banks, and insurance companies from around the world, including financial statement data. Provides ownership, subsidiaries, earnings estimates, stock data. Report formats reflect accounting procedures in the major world regions.
Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser
- Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)Capital IQ allows users to search for and screen for information on companies including in-depth financial information on publicly traded companies, information on investment firms, biographical information on corporate professionals, and transactions in both the public and private capital markets by a very wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executive’s biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. (Source Vendor Web site)
Information can be exported to Excel.
SPECIAL NOTE: Because of licensing restrictions: Access to Capital IQ is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School.
Guides to Company Research
- Company & Industry ResearchFrom UNC Park Library
Research Consultant
Nancy Lovas
Contact:
Davis Library
Subjects: Accounting, Banking, Business, Company Information, Country Economics, Country Information, Economic Data/Statistics, Economics, Economics Literature, Entrepreneur/Small Business Information, Global Business, Industry Information, Investment Information, Marketing, Patents, POLI: Political Science, Political Science