Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
**Business Subject Pages and Assets for Reuse: Marketing & Market Research
main boxes and pages for reuse in business subject libguides
Purpose of Research Guide
This guide curates research and information sources for business. Use the side menu to navigate to relevant sources.
Want guidance?
- Email a business research consultant/librarian:
Nancy Lovas, Davis Library: nancy64@email.unc.edu
Kenan Flagler Research Librarian: Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu - Schedule a consultation appointment with a business librarian.
Market Data & Mapping (demographics, spending, and/or psychographics)
- SimplyAnalyticsCreate maps, tables, and rankings from over 30,000 demographic, consumer spending, and psychographic variables. Covers the U.S. from states to neighborhood levels. Create your own optional account to save your searches and favorite variables and locations.
- StatistaProvides statistics and survey results targeting business customers, faculty, and researchers. Includes statistics on economies, markets, and industries. Contains over one million statistics on more than 80,000 topics, covering 170 industries.
- Census Narrative Profiles (current demographics)Covers social, economic, housing and demographic data. Use "Place" for cities. From the American Community Survey.
- Census: demographic subject linksProvides subject links to demographic tables from the American Community Survey. Use "Customize Table" to specify your geographies.
- NC Dept of Commerce: area profiles and mapping (tapestries)Provides demographic and market profiles of locations with North Carolina.
- Esri Business Analyst OnlineAccess demographic, business, and consumer data for market analysis, including consumer lifestyle and buying behavior.
Note: To use Business Analyst Online, you will need to create an Organizational ArcGIS Online Account. To create an account:
1. "Sign in"
2. "Your ArcGIS organization's URL" (under ArcGIS login): unc.maps.arcgis.com
3. Click "Continue" then "UNC Chapel Hill SSO"
4. Sign in with your Onyen
For help creating an account or accessing Business Analyst, please contact one of our librarians. - PolicyMapCreate maps and tables from U.S. demographic and economic data. Does not include psychographics.
- Euromonitor PassportProvides reports and marketing data on countries, companies, markets, consumers, and cities from over 200 countries. Offers a single gateway to business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. Focuses on consumer-oriented industries.
- GlobalData IntelligenceReports provide analysis, forecasts, news, and data for consumer industries such as suppliers, manufacturers and distribution channels, consumer insights and trends, company market share, pricing, and more. Search the Product Launch Analytics database by brand and product name, manufacturer, product category, health claim, flavor, ingredient and more.
Note: From login screen, select “IP Access” to access database. Then select “Consumer” in the “Access Your Subscriptions” menu. - Sage DataProvides statistics on international markets of all sorts. For help, see the user guide.
- Simmons InsightsData on adult U.S. consumers includes attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. Demographic and psychographic data.
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsUse Consumers/Lifestyles data set for market research and customer discovery.
Market Research Handbook Series: Statistics Collections
- Market Research Handbook SeriesComprehensive market data for industry and consumer behavior. Topics covered:
- Consumer Behavior
- Restaurant, food & beverage market research
- Business-to-business marketing
- Consumer marketing
- Consumer use of the internet & mobile web
- Entertainment & leisure business market research
- Retail & e-commerce market research
- Sports marketing
- Travel & tourism market research
Market Research Reports
- Mintel AcademicContains market research data and reports on consumer markets and products, demographics, consumer buying behavior and motivations, trends in global consumer markets. Many reports include Databooks with downloadable consumer survey data. U.S.-focused with some global coverage.
- Euromonitor PassportProvides detailed data and reports for international and consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Export data into Excel. Great for international business.
Note: You will be asked to login. UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed. - IBISWorld Industry ReportsEach IBIS industry report includes a detailed chapter on "Products & Markets".
- StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies. - BCC ResearchIndustry and market research reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations
International Data (demographics and consumer spending)
- Euromonitor PassportProvides detailed data and reports for international and consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Export data into Excel. Great for international business.
Note: You will be asked to login. UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed.
Other International Data Sources
- World DataBankOffers an analysis and visualization tool of economic, social and environmental indicators. Contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Users can create queries, generate tables, charts, and maps, and easily save, embed, and share them.
- UNdataProvides simultaneous access to 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations through one interface. Areas of coverage include agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, tourism and trade. Includes Millennium Development Goals indicators, and UN Key Global Indicators.
- International Monetary Fund DataProvides IMF data from International Financial Statistics, World Economic Outlook, and many other datasets. The IMF provides technical assistance and training on critical economic issues to central banks, finance ministries, tax authorities, and other economic institutions.
- Euromonitor PassportProvides detailed data and reports for international and consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Export data into Excel. Great for international business.
Note: You will be asked to login. UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed. - StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies. - Sage DataAccess data on economics, crime, health, population, energy, the environment, and more in a single interface. Manipulate data; create charts, graphs, tables, maps. Data come from U.S. and international sources. For help, see the user guide.
- ABI/INFORM CollectionArticles from academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, general business magazines. Topics covered include leadership, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting, international business and economics.
- China Data OnlineEconomic and demographic statistics about contemporary China on a monthly and/or yearly basis. Geographies include national, provicinial, county, and city levels.
Note:UNC-Chapel Hill subscribes only to the China Statistics. China census data is not included in this subscription.
Guides for Market Research
- Market Research BasicsOnline tutorial for an overview of research strategies and information sources for market research.
- Market Research as StorytellingA framework to understand how market research is like telling a story
- Demographic & Market ResearchFrom UNC Park Library
Business Research Consultant/Librarian
Nancy Lovas
Contact:
Davis Library
Subjects: Accounting, Banking, Business, Company Information, Country Economics, Country Information, Economic Data/Statistics, Economics, Economics Literature, Entrepreneur/Small Business Information, Global Business, Industry Information, Investment Information, Marketing, Patents, POLI: Political Science, Political Science