**Business Subject Pages and Assets for Reuse: Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

main boxes and pages for reuse in business subject libguides

Instructions for Creating WRDS Account

Eligibility: must be current faculty, enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected staff of UNC Chapel Hill.

Instructions for online account request form:

Go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/.
Click "Register" tab in upper right portion of the screen.

Contact Ashley Wolf for help.

WRDS Databases

WRDS is the access platform for a suite of databases/data sources. This is a list of databases included in the UNC subscription to WRDS, and it may be incomplete. Contact Kenan Flagler Library Research Services with questions about database access.

Audit Analytics
Detailed audit information on over 1,200 accounting firms and 15,000 publicly registered companies. Coverage for most data is 2000 to the present.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
COMPUSTAT Global
Annual and quarterly financial and market data for hundreds of data items, ratios and concepts. Covers publicly traded companies. Data sets have been designed to reflect the varieties of actual reporting practices used across the globe, while allowing for minimal normalization and establishing consistency on an item by item basis for Non-North American companies.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
UNC-CH users with additional password
https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/
Bureau van Dijk's Osiris
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
BoardEx
Extensive collection of data on board of directors of publicly listed companies in all regions of the world. The companies included are divided into 4 regions (United Kingdom, Europe (excluding United Kingdom, North America (U.S and Canada), and The Rest of the World). The data is further divided into 7 reports “Individual Profile”, “Compensation Analysis”, “Committee Details”, “Company Profile”, “Networks / Associations”, and “Announcements.”
The years of coverage depends upon the data set. The publishers of BoardEx began gathering data in 1999 but some data gathered goes back as far as available. For example, the director’s profiles will include employment history for as far back as information is available. For data that is presented on an annual basis such as compensation, committee details, and organization summary, the information can go back as far as 1999 but it depends upon whether or not the company was in existence at that time and upon whether or not publishers of BoardEx fully analyzed the company at that time since our database grew and expanded every year since they started.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
COMPUSTAT North America
Data includes more than 20 years of annual and 84 quarters of financial data on more than 10,000 companies that are currently in business. The database also includes 20 years of annual financial data for 8,500 companies that are bankrupt, went private, no longer report, or were liquidated. There are also 900 Canadian companies listed in the database. COMPUSTAT is intended solely for research and instructional purposes.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
COMPUSTAT Execucomp
contains more than 100 up-to-date salary, bonus, and stock option data along with company identification items that can be used to match the top executives’ compensation data with company financial data found in the Compustat North America database. Data is available from 1992 forward.
Log in to your WRDS account and Click on “Compustat – Capital IQ” then on “Execucomp.”
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
COMPUSTAT Snapshot
S&P Capital IQ’s Compustat Snapshot. Preliminary and final data for annual, quarterly and year-to-date periods, minimizing lag assumptions and look-ahead bias. The database creates a historical investment environment by showing the information that was available at specific time points in history, with data values known by the market from preliminary announcements and final sources. Dates of coverage are 1968 to the present.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
CRSP Stocks
Longitudinal price, return, volume, and other information for stocks on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ markets. Also available is return, volume, other and information on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ Market Indices. CRSP is intended solely for research and instructional purposes.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
CRSP Indices
Provides stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolios, Treasury bond and risk-free rates of return on daily, monthly, quarterly, and annual basis for the NYSE and AMEX from 1925 to the present and from 1972 for NASDAQ markets.
CRSP Indicies is accessed through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
CRSP Mutual Fund Database
a history of each mutual fund’s name, investment style, fee structure, holdings, and asset allocation. Also included are monthly total returns, monthly total net assets, monthly/daily net asset values, and dividends. Additionally schedules of rear and front load fees, asset class codes, and management company contact information are provided. All data items are for open-end mutual funds and begin at varying times between 1962 and 2003 depending on availability. The database is updated quarterly and distributed with a quarterly lag.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
CRSP U.S. Treasuries
CRSP Monthly and CRSP Daily US Treasury Databases include complete historical descriptive information and market data including prices, returns, accrued interest, yields, and durations since 1925 for the monthly data and from 1961 for the daily data.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
Eventus
Database for conducting event studies. Eventus performs event studies using data read directly from CRSP stock databases or pre-extracted from any source. The Eventus system includes utility programs to convert calendar dates to CRSP trading day numbers, convert CUSIP identifiers to CRSP permanent identification numbers, and extract event study cumulative or compounded abnormal returns for cross-sectional analysis.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
ETF Global
Exchange Traded Funds (ETF) Global database includes bid ask and close pricing, expenses, tracking indexes, assets under management, data and funds flows, historical daily holding and ownership data and more.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
I/B/E/S
Provides both summary and individual analyst forecasts of company earnings, cash flows, and other important financial items, as well as buy-sell-hold recommendations.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
IHS Global Insight
Collection of U.S. and international financial, economic and industry data.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
ISS Incentive Lab
Access extensive Executive Compensation performance metrics, goals, and payout structure.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
Mergent Fixed Income Securities Database
a comprehensive database of publicly-offered U.S. bonds. FISD contains issue details on over 140,000 corporate, corporate MTN (medium term note), supranational, U.S. Agency, and U.S. Treasury debt securities and includes more than 550 data items. FISD provides details on debt issues and the issuers, as well as transactions by insurance companies. It is used to research market trends, deal structures, issuer capital structures and other areas of fixed income debt research.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
NYSE Trade and Quote Millisecond (TAQ Millisecond)
Continues NYSE TAQ.
Consolidated Quote database for intraday quotes (time (to the millisecond), price and number of shares for each offer to buy or sell) and Consolidated Trade database for intraday trades (time (to the millisecond), price, and number of shares for each actual sale) for all securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and SmallCap issues. Data is available for January 1, 2009 the present with a 3 month delay.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
NYSE Trade and Quote (TAQ)
Discontinued in December 2014. Continued by NYSE TAQ Millisecond.
Data is still available for January 1993 to December 2014.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
OptionMetrics
Source of historical price and implied volatility data for the U.S. equity and index options markets. Contains historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, correctly calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
RavenPack News Analytics
A database containing millions of analytical data points for articles on thousands of entities. These data points can be used to perform a wide variety of analysis on how entities are presented or covered by various Dow Jones News services.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
RepRisk
A source of information on environmental social and governance “risk.” Risks can be one or more of 28 issues and or 57 topics. The risks are categorized as low, medium, high, very high, and extremely high. RepRisk covers about 95,000 companies over the period January 2007 to the present. Data is updated annually in October.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
Preqin
Private equity venture capital, and real estate deals, funds, investors and fund managers that allows users to analyze data across the entire investment lifecycle. Robust coverage to 2000, limited coverage to 1953. The Private Equity and Venture Capital segments accessible in WRDS. Real Estate segment not in WRDS.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
Thomson Financial Institutional Money Manager (13f) Holdings
Stock holdings and transactions by more than 4,300 Institutional Money Managers and money management companies. The Institutional Holdings data source is the actual 13f form filed with the SEC on a quarterly basis by money managers/management companies. The 13f data is aggregated to a manager level. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. (formerly known as CDA/Spectrum).
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
Thomson Financial Insider Filings Data
Data from Thomson Financial describing the sales and purchases of stock by corporate insiders.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.