Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

Resources for Law Journal Staff Members

A guide to resources for law journal staff members at UNC School of Law.

Identifying Sources

To identify an unknown source, you must decipher the citation. Most citations will be familiar to you, such as cases or federal statutes. However, citations to secondary sources or more obscure primary law can be more difficult to understand. There are many resources you can use to help understand the abbreviations used in a citation.

Bluebook Tables

Bluebook Tables are helpful not just to create citations, but also to interpret citation abbreviations you don't know. Especially useful tables for identifying sources are:

  • T1: US Jurisdictions
  • T2: Foreign Jurisdictions (as of the Twenty-First Edition, this table has moved online here)
  • T6: Common Words in Case Names, Institutional Author Names, and Periodical Titles
  • T7: Court Names
  • T10: Geographical Terms
  • T12: Months
  • T13: Institutional Names in Periodical Titles

Prince's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations (2017)

This resource contains an extensive range of acronyms, abbreviations, and symbols used in American legal literature. You can use the first part of the dictionary to identify the meaning of abbreviations and the second part of the dictionary to identify the abbreviations for resources. Prince's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations is available at the Reference Desk.

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

This is a free online resource you can use to search for the meaning of abbreviations. Cardiff includes English language legal publications from the United States and the British Isles, as well as a wide selection of foreign language legal publications. You can search an abbreviation to find the matching publication title, or you can search the title to find the abbreviation.

NYU Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations

This resource includes citation systems for 45 countries, as well as citation rules for international organizations, tribunals, and treaties. The 2009 edition is available in print at the Reference Desk and a 2006 edition is available online.

World Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations

This print resource is available in the Reference Collection of the Law Library. Spanning four volumes, it is an extensive collection of legal abbreviations from countries around the world.

Remember: As a last resort for especially tricky citations, you can always Google the abbreviation or search the abbreviation in a legal research database to find some hint as to what it means. Or see a reference librarian for help!