Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E-Resources for Research in Latin American and Iberian Studies

This document provides open access resources to research Latin America and Iberia.

UNC Digital Collections

Hecho a Mano Digital Exhibit

Digital exhibit of hand-made books from Latin America held at UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries.

https://dc.lib.unc.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/hechoamano/

José María Vargas Vila Digital Collection

Digital reproductions of novels, some in multiple editions, and a short novel series by José María Vargas Vila (1860–1933), possibly the most widely read Colombian author of the early twentieth century.

https://exhibits.lib.unc.edu/exhibits/show/vargas-vila

Ancient and Living Maya in the 19th and 20th Centuries: Archaeological Discovery, Literary Voice, and Political Struggle Digital Exhibit

This exhibition tells the story of European peoples’ discovery of Maya sites and Mayan languages and literary traditions, alongside the dramatic political history of the region and the Maya struggle for autonomy and self-expression.

https://exhibits.lib.unc.edu/exhibits/show/maya/intro

Spanish Drama Collection (via Internet Archive)

Carolina’s collection of comedias sueltas is one of the largest in the United States. The drama collection also contains some 18,000 plays printed after 1830. Some titles are so scarce that no other library is known to hold them.  Since 2014, the Library has been systematically digitizing its Spanish, Portuguese and Catalan dramas. Readers can search for and view the complete digital facsimiles at no charge via the Library’s catalog, the Internet Archive, or the Hathi Trust Digital Library.

https://archive.org/details/spandr