Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E-Resources for Research in Latin American and Iberian Studies

This document provides open access resources to research Latin America and Iberia.

Newspapers and Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

https://doaj.org/

Hemeroteca Digital (Biblioteca Nacional de España)

Nineteenth and twentieth century Spanish newspapers. Part of the Biblioteca Digital Hispanica.

http://www.bne.es/es/Catalogos/HemerotecaDigital/

LANIC has compiled a dedicated page of news sources from Mexico:

http://lanic.utexas.edu/la/region/news/mexico/

The Guardian : World news guide: Latin America

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2002/feb/05/world-news-guide-latin-america

Zona Latina

This site offers URLs for newspapers and other media outlets.

http://www.zonalatina.com/index.htm

Archivo Historico de Revistas Argentinas

Digital collection of 20th century Argentinian cultural journals and periodicals with complete indices as well as criticism and historical essays.

https://www.ahira.com.ar/

Central American Journals Online

A database of journals published in Nicaragua, Honduras and El Salvador, covering the full range of academic disciplines. The objective of CAMJOL is to give greater visibility to the participating journals and the research that they transmit. CAMJOL, originally called Latin American Journals Online (LAMJOL), is primarily in Spanish, but also features some English abstracts and tables of contents. CAMJOL provides information about each participating journal, including objectives and scope, contact details and general information. It also provides tables of contents and summaries when available for articles published in these journals. Many full-text articles are available.

https://www.camjol.info/

Hemeroteca Digital de Lisboa

http://hemerotecadigital.cm-lisboa.pt/

Hemeroteca Digital Historica. Colombia

https://www.banrepcultural.org/biblioteca-virtual/colecciones-digitales/hemeroteca-historica

Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de Mexico

http://www.hndm.unam.mx/index.php/es/

Anáforas: Publicaciones Periodicas del Uruguay

http://anaforas.fic.edu.uy/jspui/handle/123456789/13