Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E-Resources for Research in Latin American and Iberian Studies

This document provides open access resources to research Latin America and Iberia.

Digital Libraries

Biblioteca Digital Hispanica

Portal to the digital collections of the Biblioteca Nacional de España.

http://www.bne.es/en/Catalogos/BibliotecaDigitalHispanica/Inicio/

Biblioteca Virtual de Ciencias Humanas

The Virtual Library of Human Sciences offers free access to a set of virtual libraries developed by The Edelstein Center for Social Research or in partnership with other institutions. Our libraries includes more than 55.000 texts with search system by author or title and are constantly expanded.

http://www.bvce.org.br/

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes

Includes thousands of classical texts from Spain and Latin America in digital format. Also links to publishers, libraries, archives, and many other resources.

http://www.cervantesvirtual.com/

Biblioteca Nacional Digital Brasil

The components of this virtual library from Provides digital access to rare books, periodicals, manuscripts, drawings, maps and other materials.

http://bndigital.bn.gov.br/

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

https://www.dloc.com/

Gallica

Gallica is a digital library hosted by the National Library of France (Bibliothèque nationale de France) and its partners.  Online since 1997, Gallica provides digital access to millions of manuscripts, books, ephemera, sound recordings, scores, maps, images and video.  While its primary focus is France and its former colonies, there is valuable content related to Latin America and Iberia.

https://gallica.bnf.fr/

Hathi Trust Digital Library

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

https://www.hathitrust.org/

The Internet Archive

The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

https://archive.org/index.php

Mediateca INAH (Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia, Mexico)

An open-access digital repository of the INAH. Includes digital reproductions of primary sources, journals, books, photographs, maps and exhibits, as well as audio and video collections.

http://mediateca.inah.gob.mx/islandora_74/

Memoria: Biblioteca Nacional Digital, Portugal

Full-text access to fundamental Portuguese texts related to art, science, law, education, history, language, literature, music, and other areas.

http://purl.pt/401/1/

Memoria Chilena: Biblioteca Nacional Digital de Chile

Serves both as a portal to cultural and historical information about Chile as well as a digital library providing access to numerous rare books, photographs, manuscripts, maps, and other types of documentation.

http://www.memoriachilena.gob.cl/602/w3-channel.html

Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe de la red CLACSO

The components of this virtual library are a rich source of e-publications, citations, and other research information from the Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales.

http://www.biblioteca.clacso.edu.ar/

United Nations Digital Library

https://digitallibrary.un.org/