Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E-Resources for Research in Latin American and Iberian Studies

This document provides open access resources to research Latin America and Iberia.

Portals and Projects

Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America

AILLA is a digital archive of recordings and texts in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America.

https://ailla.utexas.org/

Borges Center

Comprehensive site on Jorge Luis Borges at the University of Pittsburg including full text articles on literary criticism.

https://www.borges.pitt.edu/

Centro de Lingua Portuguesa/Instituto Camoes

The site, maintained by the University of Hamburg, is a gateway for Portuguese language and literature.

https://www.clpic.uni-hamburg.de/pt/

Cervantes Project

The Cervantes Project is composed of: the Cervantes International Bibliography Online (CIBO); the Cervantes Digital Library (CDL); and the Cervantes Digital Archive of Images (CDAI). The CIBO is a comprehensive bibliography of studies, editions, and translations of Cervantes's works. The CDL contains several electronic editions of Cervantes's complete works, including flexible interfaces and search engines with multiple options for searching and displaying results. Copies of his comedies, plays, and other related works are located in the CDL. The CDAI aims to develop a digital archive of photographic images on Cervantes's times and works suitable for teaching and research purposes.

http://cervantes.tamu.edu/V2/CPI/index.html

Euskara

This is a main gateway to information on the Basque language and is part of the official website of the Basque Government.

http://www.euskadi.eus/gobierno-vasco/politica-linguistica/

Hispana

Hispana is a portal that provides access to digital collections from archives, libraries and museums in Spain.

https://hispana.mcu.es/es/inicio/inicio.do

Iberian Studies Web

Created by WESS (Western European Studies Section, Association of College and Research Libraries) this portal is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in Iberian Studies (for Spain, Portugal and Andorra)

https://acrl.libguides.com/ess/iberianstudies

Ibero-American Electronic Text Series

A project developed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the Ibero-American Electronic Text Series is devoted to Latin American and Iberian works in the humanities. The texts comply with the Guidelines for Electronic Text Encoding and Interchange and with the Guidelines for Markup of Electronic Texts, reading level. Currently, the series holds over 40 titles in Spanish and Portuguese that cover a wide array of works from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal and span the medieval to contemporary periods, e.g., Vida de Santa María Egipciaqua; Manuscrito de Chichicastenango/Popol buj; Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz, Loa para el auto sacramental de "El Divino Narciso"; Miguel de Cervantes, Don Quijote de la Mancha; Rafael Montoro, Principios de Moral e Instrucción Cívica.

https://uwdc.library.wisc.edu/collections/ibramertxt/

Instituto Cervantes

The Instituto Cervantes promotes and teaches Spanish and spreads the culture of Spain and Spanish-speaking countries worldwide. It also provides access to a great variety of specialized resources on Spanish and Spain and Latin American culture.

https://www.cervantes.es/default.htm

Instituto da Lengua Galega

Official web site of the Galician Language Institute, a linguistics research center located at the University of Santiago de Compostela. It provides access to useful resources for those interested in the Galician language such as a database of Galician last names and a Galician language thesaurus.

http://ilg.usc.es/

Latin American Open Archives Portal (project of the Latin American Research Resources Project and LANIC)

The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Typically, this content is published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers.

http://lanic.utexas.edu/project/laoap/

Lletra. L’Espai Virtual de Literatura Catalana

This is an essential resource for researchers and students interested in Catalan literature. It features bio-biographical information, critical studies and links to web resources of individual writers.

https://lletra.uoc.edu/

Memoria: Biblioteca Nacional Digital, Portugal

Full-text access to fundamental Portuguese texts related to art, science, law, education, history, language, literature, music, and other areas.

http://purl.pt/401/1/

La Real Academia de Gastronomía

A publically funded project whose objective is to promote and preserve Spanish gastronomic culture.  The site contains many traditional Spanish recipes and its publications are open access.

https://realacademiadegastronomia.com/

Traces: Base de Dades Bibliografica Llengua i Literatura Catalanes

TRACES, the bibliographical data base on Catalan language and literature is a project born on 1987 by the Grup d'Estudis de Literatura Catalana Contemporània (GELCC) from the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona.

https://traces.uab.cat/

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)

Hosted at the University of Texas at Austin and part of the World Wide Web Virtual Library, this is one of the largest and best-organized portals to current information about and from Latin America: Mexico, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, Hispanics.

http://lanic.utexas.edu/

Researching Brazil / Pesquisa no Brasil

Devised as a tool to support research in Brazilian Studies, Researching Brazil/Pesquisa no Brasil is both a bibliographic database and a gateway to online resources relevant to the field.

https://liblatam.sitehost.iu.edu/researching-brazil/index.php?go=hm