Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
(Allied) Health Sciences: Faculty Resources: Research & Funding
This is a guide for Allied Health Sciences faculty, with a focus on resources for new/junior faculty, mid-career faculty, and their mentors. It is also a broad, one-stop-shop for faculty at all levels.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Research & Funding: Campus Resources
- About Research at Carolina
- For Researchers at Carolina
- links to find funding, proposal development, award management, commercialization, compliance
- Partnership Opportunities
- Research Stories
- Research Units
- Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research (OVCR) Programs, Projects, Services
- links to Carolina Postdoctoral Program for Faculty Diversity, Internal Grant Programs, OVCR Cost Sharing, Research Compliance Program
- Quick Links
A few good resources for early career researchers at all levels:
- OSR > Office of Postdoctoral Affairs > Funding Resources & Fellowships page
- Funding Resources
- Fellowship Opportunities
- Funding Basics
- Grant Basics
- OSR > Resources > Research Playbooks
- The result of an initiative to improve and streamline the management of externally sponsored research programs at UNC, the Research Playbooks are an online resources intended to support researchers and research administrators in managing all stages of the award lifecycle, from proposal to closeout. The first playbook released is the Proposal Playbook. Site includes brief playbook training videos and technical support.
- Introduction to Human Subject Research Protection at UNC
- See, also, IRB & Research Ethics Box on this page
NC TraCS Institute (North Carolina Translational & Clinical Sciences Institute). An NIH grant-funded institute serving the research community with a mission to accelerate discoveries into interventions that improve the health of individuals and the public. Our aims are to develop and support a skilled research workforce, engage diverse stakeholders as active partners, develop innovative methods to address barriers to translating scientific findings, and incorporate cutting-edge informatics tools and methodologies in every aspect of translational research.
- NC TraCS is UNC's CTSA (Clinical & Translational Science Award program).
- All NC TraCS services
- For some specific examples to get you started, see below:
- TraCS Pilot Grant Program$2K, $5-50K, and other funding opportunities
UNC School of Medicine Center for Health Innovation
- Collaborates and engages with outside organizations on a variety of innovations in health care including analytics, technology, payment models, and patient care delivery.
- Provides funding, advice and support to UNC employees, faculty members and clinicians with innovative ideas or projects. Over the last six years our Innovation Pilot Award program funded over $1,015,000 for employee teams to test novel ideas at UNC.
UNC Center for Faculty Excellence (CFE)
- The Center for Faculty Excellence is UNC-Chapel Hill’s pan-university faculty development center. Our mission is to enable faculty members in all disciplines to reach their goals in teaching, research, and leadership throughout their careers.
- Resources for faculty at all career stages, including leadership, mentoring, research, teaching and learning, grants, diversity and inclusion
- CFE Early Career & New Faculty ResourcesThe CFE provides services specifically tailored to faculty members new to Carolina and those in their first five years at UNC. Or come see us to develop an individual development plan.
- CFE Professional Interests Manager (PIM)Designed to inform faculty members about professional development resources and opportunities in the areas of teaching, research, and leadership. The service is designed to notify you only about resources and opportunities relevant to your particular professional development interests.
In addition to the many writing resources for students and instructors, the Writing Center includes an online handout on writing Grant Proposals.
For computing/IT resources, services, and tools, see Computing/IT Tab on this guide.
- This includes both School of Medicine (SOM) IT and campus Information Technology Services (ITS).
IRB & Research Ethics
- UNC Research: IRB & the Office of Human Research EthicsIncludes announcements and events (including IRB pop-ups around campus for drop-in assistance).
- TraCS (North Carolina Translational and Clinical Sciences Institute) Clinical Research Ethics• Provides confidential ethics consultation on research design and ongoing research projects. Helps with background research and policy advice on best practices in research ethics.
• Assists with research ethics issues that may fall outside the scope of IRB and IACUC oversight. Research ethics consultations can cover a wide range of topics--see this site for examples.
• Also coordinates Research Ethics Grand Rounds, a monthly seminar series addressing current ethical, legal and social issues in the design and conduct of biomedical research. - UNC IACUC (Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee)Oversees the University’s animal care and use program and is responsible for reviewing all animal care applications using vertebrate animals, ensuring compliance with federal animal welfare regulations, inspecting animal facilities and investigator laboratories, investigating animal concerns, and overseeing training and educational programs.
Funding Search Help
- SPIN Information PageIncludes Quick Start Guide, Search Tips Handout, and other educational materials.
See InfoEd SPIN Plus Funding database information elsewhere on this page.
- Office of Research Development (ORD) Faculty ConsultationsPlease make appointment requests at least 24 hours in advance of your preferred appointment. ORD will make every effort to accommodate appointment requests but cannot guarantee your preferred date and time will be available. We will confirm your appointment via email. You may also request a consultation by calling our office at (919) 962-9333. Get help with
Proposal Development
Research Planning
Funding Questions
Federal/Sponsor Questions
Finding Collaborators
Other - UC Berkeley Funding Opportunities for New & Young FacultyA good compilation. Not all will be relevant to Allied Health--use links on the right to go to agencies of interest within list.
InfoEd SPIN Plus funding database
- SPIN Plus Funding DatabaseSearch 40,000+ funding opportunities from 10,000+ Federal, public, non-profit, and private sponsors. Register to set up and save search preferences, sign up for email notifications, organize and export searches, share funding opportunities.
- Register a SPIN Plus user profile to take advantage of customization features and to set up email notifications.
- Click the Sign In link (upper right hand corner), then “Need to create a user account?” Provide your first and last names, UNC email address, and a username.
- After the registration request is approved, you will receive an email notification with a link to set your password (when setting your password, ignore the “current password” field).
- SPIN Information PageIncludes Quick Start Guide, Search Tips Handout, and other educational materials.
Carolina Center for Public Service
- Carolina Center for Public Service (CCPS)The Carolina Center for Public Service connects the energy and expertise of both the University and the community to provide students, faculty and staff with deep and transformative experiences. Through engaged scholarship and service, we work together to create collaborative and interdisciplinary solutions to local and global challenges.
- Thorpe Faculty Enagaged Scholars ProgramThe Thorp Faculty Engaged Scholars (FES) program brings together selected faculty from across campus to engage in a two-year experiential, competency-based curriculum designed to advance their engaged scholarship. Scholars participate in sessions in community settings to learn from Carolina faculty and their community partners.
- Resources & SupportA wide array of resources in support of Carolina’s public service and engaged scholarship efforts are available. From service-learning course syllabi and articles to seminars and workshops, information for students, faculty and staff is available through these links.
Research/Grant Training Programs
- MUSC TIGGR: Training in Grantsmanship for Rehabilitation Research at The Medical University of South CarolinaThe Intensive grant-writing workshop (TIGRR) builds upon the successful model used by the Enhancing Rehabilitation Research in the South (ERRIS) workshops that resulted in many junior investigators receiving NIH and other NIH level research funding.
The centerpiece of the TIGRR Workshop is the one-on-one mentorship that maximizes the chance of success. TIGRR participants are not “attendees" that pay a fee and just show up. They are mentees selected by our review committee from the many applications we receive each year. The selected mentees will come prepared to complete at least the specific aims for a grant proposal for submission to the NIH or other funding agency. - Switzer Research Fellowship Program (NIDILRR Administration for Community Living/ACL)Purpose: The purpose of the Switzer Research Fellow Program is to build research capacity by providing support to highly qualified individuals, including those with disabilities, to perform research on rehabilitation, independent living, and other experiences and outcomes of individuals with disabilities.
HSL Research and Publishing Resources
Library Data Services
HSL Research and Publishing Guides
- HSL Guide on Current Awareness ToolsWant to keep current about your discipline and its research? Check out this guide for more information.
- NIH BiosketchInformation and resources to help you use the new NIH Biosketch format required for NIH applications submitted on or after May 25, 2015
Navigating NCTraCS: Examples from a Junior Faculty Member
Examples of how a then early career faculty member started with $2k to shape her career --Clare Harrop, PhD
- Associate Professor and Translational Research Methodologist, Department of Health Sciences
- Presentation to the UNC Department of (Allied) Health Sciences, October, 2018
- UNC's NC TraCS Institute ("TraCS"): An NIH grant-funded institute serving the research community with a mission to accelerate discoveries into interventions that improve the health of individuals and the public. Our aims are to develop and support a skilled research workforce, engage diverse stakeholders as active partners, develop innovative methods to address barriers to translating scientific findings, and incorporate cutting-edge informatics tools and methodologies in every aspect of translational research.
Also see the September 1, 2020, TraCS News Article, Asking the Right Questions, in which Clare Harrop, PhD, describes the TraCS $2K pilot award as a gateway that opened doors to many other opportunities.
- Why don't we see more young girls with autism? To tackle this big, complicated question, Clare Harrop, PhD - a developmental psychologist in the Department of Health Sciences at Carolina - started small with a TraCS $2K pilot award.
- "I did not expect to get five publications, numerous conference presentations, and three more grants out of this."