Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
(Allied) Health Sciences: Faculty Resources: Teaching Resources
This is a guide for Allied Health Sciences faculty, with a focus on resources for new/junior faculty, mid-career faculty, and their mentors. It is also a broad, one-stop-shop for faculty at all levels.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Heels Care Network
- Heels Care NetworkCreating a community of care at Carolina means that we look out for each other. We take an interest in each other and work to address the well-being of all community members.
The Heels Care Network (HCN) website is a comprehensive mental health resource with all things related to mental health and well-being including events, news, a filterable resource hub, and a peer support chat. HCN is place for all Tar Heels — undergraduate, graduate and professional students, and post-docs, as well as faculty and staff — to come together in support of each other and access the many mental health and well-being resources at Carolina.
UNC's Carolina Center for Public Service
- Carolina Center for Public ServiceThe Carolina Center for Public Service connects the energy and expertise of both the University and the community to provide students, faculty and staff with deep and transformative experiences. Through engaged scholarship and service, we work together to create collaborative and interdisciplinary solutions to local and global challenges.
- Awards and FundingThe Carolina Center for Public Service administers various awards, grants, fellowships and scholarships honoring individual undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, staff and University units for exemplary work in public service and engaged scholarship. The University Public Service Awards, an annual selection of three campus-wide awards, are presented in a celebration ceremony in the spring.
UNC Center for Faculty Excellence (CFE)
- UNC Center for Faculty ExcellenceMission: as the University’s faculty development center, to provide the resources and support needed for faculty at all career stages—and from all areas of the University—to thrive and succeed. Our website highlights resources and programs in the areas of Teaching and Learning, Research, Leadership and Mentoring. Our resources are also organized by career stage, with guidance for early career, mid-career and senior faculty in addition to graduate students.
- CFE Teaching & LearningThe Teaching & Learning Group is ready to help all Carolina departments and faculty members reach their teaching goals through consultations, workshops, Course Design Institutes, and grant programs. We also offer graduate students three programs to help them prepare for their academic careers.
- Excellence in Faculty Diversity & InclusionIncludes link for free National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity (NCfDD) membership. CFE is proud to co-sponsor the University’s institutional membership in (NCFDD). The NCFDD provides a wealth of resources, webinars, courses, weekly faculty development tips and more, immediately accessible through its website, at no charge to UNC faculty members.
UNC Information Technology Services (ITS) including Canvas (replaced Sakai in 2024)
- CanvasCanvas is the University’s centrally-supported Learning Management System (LMS) and fully replaced the Sakai LMS after the Spring 2024 semester concluded. Sakai is now in restricted access until it is decommissioned on May 15, 2026. Please see link for information about the timeline, course migrations, and details on Sakai Restricted Access.
- UNC ITS Educational TechnologiesITS Educational Technologies provides instructional technology applications and integration to support the University’s academic mission. The division includes: Classroom Support & Learning Space Design, Educational Technologies Systems & Services, and Liaison to the Center for Faculty Excellence.
- ITS Teaching, Learning, and Classroom ServicesRequests or knowledge articles specific to Faculty and students’ use of applications for instructional or classroom purposes.
- ITS HelpSign in with your School of Medicine Credentials (top right).
UNC Writing Center
- UNC-Chapel Hill Writing CenterIncludes: online links to appointments, online coaching, tips and tools, workshops, English language support, faculty support
- Faculty FAQWith additional links to
Faculty
Tips on Teaching Writing
Linguistically Diverse Students
Classroom Handouts
UNC Accessibility Resources & Services (ARS)
- Accessibility Resources & Services (ARS)Through ARS, UNC seeks to meet the individual needs of applicants and current students with disabilities and medical conditions by coordinating and implementing appropriate accommodations and providing resources and services as they relate to academics, residences, dining and co and extra-curricular campus activities.
ARS also functions as a source of information, educational outreach and advice, as well as a communication link among individuals with disabilities, faculty and staff, outside agencies, and the community at large.
UNC staff and faculty members seeking accommodations should contact the Equal Opportunity and Compliance Office.
Includes Campus Recreation: Accessible Facilities, Accessible Equipment, Adaptive Programs
UNC Equal Opportunity & Compliance Office
- UNC Equal Opportunity & Compliance OfficeNon-discrimination, Title IX and VAWAViolence Against Women Act, employee religious and disability accommodations. Report incidents and violations.
UNC: The Learning Center
- The Learning CenterFor your students: The UNC-Chapel Hill Learning Center helps students succeed in the classroom and beyond. Take advantage of our resources—including one-on-one academic coaching, peer tutoring, study workshops, and online tools—to achieve your goals and thrive as a Carolina student.
UNC's Health Sciences Library
- Ask HSL (contact us)Email, text, phone, FAQ's
- Course ReservesIf your course has Canvas set up, reserves can also be accessed via the “Course Reserves” tab.
For assistance, please contact hsl-reserves@unc.edu. - Writing in the Health Sciences: A resource for faculty and studentsFocuses on resources for master's and professional doctorate students and their teachers.
- Barbara's Basics for Allied Health StudentsIncludes "First Things First" and "Improving Your Library Skills"
- UNC University Libraries EventsIncludes classes, workshops, and more
UNC University Libraries
- University Libraries Scholarship of Teaching & Learning Resources GuideKey articles, article databases for searching the literature, books, selected journals, websites
- Carolina Digital RepositoryFor more information about UNC-Chapel Hill's Open Access Policy, see Deposit Open Access Scholarly Support link.
- Deposit Open Access Scholarly WorkOpen Access publishing is a movement that makes scholarly content available free of charge. The University Libraries support open access, open archives, and open repositories as methods to encourage the widest possible access to scholarly content.
- Design Lab (at Undergraduate Library) ResourcesGuides, workshops, consultations, design lab resources. For faculty and students.
- (Library) Disability ServicesServices available by library
- E-research tools by discipline (University Libraries)For Health Sciences Libraries Resources guides see https://guides.lib.unc.edu/HSLGuidesDirectory
- Media & Design Center (at Undergraduate Library)Includes faculty support, consultation, lab, equipment on loan, film finding, and more.
- SkillfUL WorkshopsDesign skill and tool workshops, learn-on-your-own resources, consultations.
Interprofessional Education (IPE)
- Office of the Provost Interprofessional Education and Practice (IPEP)The Office of Interprofessional Education and Practice (OIPEP) supports a campus-wide initiative for the intentional integration of interprofessional learning and collaboration. The purpose of the Office is to design and support creative and meaningful ways to enhance student learning, build faculty scholarship and help departments meet accreditation goals.IPE) and Collaboration (IPC) through all schools.
The Chronicle of Higher Education
UNC Chapel Hill Libraries provides premium access via its institutional subscription.
Scroll down to explore content at the bottom of the page. Sign up for newsletters, download free reports and guides, sign up for virtual events.
Note: To access the Chronicle of Higher Education with full-text content via its mobile app, you must register for an account on the Chronicle's site using your email.unc.edu address. Once you have registered an account on the Chronicle website, download the Chronicle's free app for the iPad. Launch the app and touch the 'Log In' button to sign-in and access the Chronicle online.From smartphones or tablets: Launch a web browser and visit chronicle.com. Select 'Log in' beneath the Chronicle header and sign-in to view premium content. On any other computing device (laptop, desktop, etc.): Visit the Chronicle website and log in using your UNC e-mail based account.
- The Chronicle of Higher Education: VitaeJobs and Career Resources. From The Chronicle of Higher Education
Some additional higher education teaching resources
- ProfHacker blog (formerly ProfHacker at The Chronicle of Higher Education)ProfHacker delivers tips, tutorials, and commentary on pedagogy, productivity, and technology in higher education.
- The Teaching ProfessorThe Teaching Professor was founded in 1987 with a goal to create a newsletter that helps college faculty improve their teaching, share best practices, and stay current on the latest pedagogical research. The new Teaching Professor, launched August 2018, is a fully online version.
UNC SOM Academy of Educators (AOE)
The Scholarship of Teaching & Learning/SOTL at UNC
- University Libraries SOTL Resource GuideKey articles, article databases for searching the literature, books, selected journals, websites
- UNC Center for Faculty Excellence/CFE SOTLIncluding resources to get started, individual consultations.