On this Page
E-Research Tools (Databases)
Find @ UNC
Click on the
button in database results to:
- Go directly to most online articles
- Export aritlce citations to RefWorks or Endnote
- Search the UNC-CH Library Catalog to find the print journal
- Send an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if the journal is not owned by UNC-CH
Access Information
On Campus Access: Electronic resources are accessible on-campus and from the UNC Hospitals' computers. Faculty, students and staff must register personal laptops and mobile devices with UNC Chapel Hill ITS.
Off Campus Access: Access resources off-campus via the Library website by logging in with your Onyen. Most electronic resources are accessible off-campus to students, faculty, and staff, including UNC Hospitals' staff.
Drug Databases
- Facts & ComparisonsProvides drug information, interactions, herbal information, and patient medication handouts.
- Micromedex 2.0 (On campus only)Information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.
- ClinicalKey (enhanced MDConsult) New! Includes monographs from Clinical Pharmacology via the Drugs box at the top of the screen.
- Natural StandardEvidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies including herbal remedies and supplements, with validated rating scales to evaluate quality. Comprehensive monographs designed to facilitate clinical decision making. Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits available. Mobile version available to UNC users.
Core Databases
- PubMed Covers journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and public health from 1950 to the present.
- PubMed MobilePubMed Mobile includes the same basic search functionality and content as Standard PubMed; that is, all search terms and fields work similarly.
- Web of Science (ISI)Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Tracks # of times an article has been cited.
- BIOSIS PreviewsComprehensive biological sciences product that indexes content from life sciences journals and non-journal literature, including conferences, meetings, symposia, review articles, U.S. patents, books, book chapters, and software reviews...1969-present.
- EMBASECovers journal articles about drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical medicine, health policy and management, public health...from 1947 to the present. Includes PubMed, British & European titles, etc.
- Google ScholarSearch for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, meeting abstracts and technical reports across subject areas. This link includes info about UNC-CH journals in search results.
- International Pharmaceutical AbstractsCovers the entire spectrum of drug therapy and pharmaceutical information from over 750 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals published worldwide since 1970.
Clinical Databases
- UpToDateIncludes frequently updated peer-reviewed articles covering major aspects of conditions, including symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options.
- ClinicalKey (enhanced MDConsult) New! Includes MDConsult content and much more. Contains hundreds of Elsevier's medical books and textbooks. Note: you must create an account and login to download PDF chapters of books. Also includes current journals, Procedures Consult's videos, the First Consult POC interface, additional videos and images, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Gold Standard.
- Cochrane Library Rigorous and up-to-date research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions. Includes full-text of Cochrane Systematic Reviews.
- eMedicineArticles on 7,000 diseases and disorders. The evidence-based content provides the latest practice guidelines in 59 medical specialties.
- National Guideline ClearinghouseA comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents, an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
- ACP Journal ClubSummaries of selected studies published in the medical literature of importance to Internal Medicine physicians, with comments by clinical experts.
- Users' Guides InteractiveContains the entire contents of Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, and makes this content interactive with tips, worksheets, calculators, and illustrative clinical cases.
Mobile Databases
Mobile Micromedex / Thompson Clinical Xpert is available for free to UNC-CH students, faculty, and staff. You must be on campus to register but may be off campus when using your device. Access is available for iPhone/iTouch, Blackberry, Palm, and PocketPC systems. Instructions for registering are at Mobile Instructions.
MD Consult Mobile is available for free to UNC-CH students, faculty, and staff on smartphones like the iPhone, Android, Blackberry, Treo, and others. Instructions for registering are at Mobile Instructions.
Meet Your Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Office Hours
Office hours are held regularly during the academic term (August - November and January-April).
Wednesdays 2-3pm in PharMart (Beard Hall 1st Floor) and Online via Adobe Connect
Other times available by appointment for both online and in-person consultations. Email me to schedule time.
Ask a Librarian
We are here to help!
Email
FAQ
One-on-One Consultation
Classes
Phone 919 - 962 - 0800
Text/SMS 919 - 584 - 5931
Resource News
Journal Cancellation Candidates, 2013
Results will be shared later this summer.
Purchase request form:
Request a New Purchase


Loading...
