Pharmacy: Key Clinical Information Resources
Created by Health Science Librarians
Clinical Decision Support Tools
Use clinical decision support tools to see summaries and analyses of the best available evidence for use at the point-of-care. They contain information on diagnosis, interventions, prognosis, etc. for healthcare providers as well as patient education handouts and resources.
DynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool available to UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; and UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
UpToDate is another clinical reference tool, however campus access is limited to UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy PharmD students and teaching faculty in the PharmD program via the Eshelman School of Pharmacy secure website. In addition, UNC Hospitals employees can access UpToDate via the hospital intranet site or through EPIC.
Clinical Information Resources
Tertiary Information Resources
- Facts & Comparisons e-AnswersDrug information, interactions, herbal information, and patient medication handouts are seamlessly updated and can be customized; includes Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction FactsTM, The Review of Natural Products and Med Facts: Patient Information.
- DynaMedDynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Content is written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis
- Micromedex (On Campus Only)Search for drug information by drug, disease, or toxicology. Additional tools (accessed via top tabs) provide information about drug interactions; IV compatibility; drug ID; and drug comparisons. NeoFax provides pediatric drug information. Use mobile instructions for off-campus access.
- AHFS Drug InformationReference from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists including over 1,300 in-depth clinical drug monographs on over 40,000 represented medications and nearly all drug entities available in the United States. Note: When done, click the Logoff button at the top of the screen. Limited simultaneous users available.
- AccessPharmacyLarge collection of major pharmacy textbooks from McGraw-Hill; includes a large multimedia library of videos and images associated with major pharmacy textbooks, quick reference answers about common disorders, drug therapy cases, self-study and exam prep for the NAPLEX, etc.
Primary and Secondary Literature Resources
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
- EmbaseHighly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Supports drug discovery & development, pharmacovigilance, medical device development and post-market surveillance, and evidence-based medicine.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
