Pharmacy: Mobile Apps & Websites
Created by Health Science Librarians
Using Apps / Mobile Databases
The Health Sciences Library provides several mobile apps and websites for the UNC Chapel Hill and UNC Hospitals community.
The Micromedex apps are available for free to UNC-CH students, faculty, and staff. Passwords for the apps change annually and can be found in the desktop version of Micromedex, under the Mobile Application Access menu in the top right corner. Instructions for registering are at Mobile Instructions.
The DynaMed app is also available for Android, iPhone and Windows. Instructions for registering are at Mobile Instructions.
A list of additional apps and mobile resources is in the Mobile Health & Research Apps guide.
- If you access any of the mobile websites from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your Onyen and password to access them, but the mobile apps will typically NOT require you to login every time once installed.
- Please review the Access Instructions guide for more details on installation or email an HSL Librarian if you need assistance.
Point-of-Care Apps & Mobile Websites
Mobile Apps
- AHRQ ePSS (Electronic Preventive Services Selector)
An app designed to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services that are appropriate for their patients. Search & browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations. iPhone, iPad, Blackberry, Android, Palm, Windows. FREE
- Canopy Speak Medical Translator AppTranslator app for clinicians interacting with limited-English patients. Includes a large library of pre-translated phrases with text and audio in 15 languages. Set up a link to UNC Health Care or UNC Dentistry translation services.
.
- Epocrates
Free, clinical decision support tool app. Provides drug, disease, and diagnostic reference. iPhone, iPad, Android. Individual subscription version available also with enhanced content.
- Red Book Online (AAP)
Download the current Red Book, containing information on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. iPhone, iPad, Android. App will work offline.
- STAT!Ref
Access selected medical, dental, nursing and pharmacological textbooks and dictionaries, as well as medical calculators, ACP Smart Medicine, and AHFS DI Essentials. iPhone, iPad, Android
.
- U.S. National Library of Medicine's Mobile Applications
Website providing access to all NLM mobile resources. FREE
.
Mobile Optimized Websites
- PubMed for Handhelds
Search PubMed by PICO (patient, intervention, comparison, outcome) or regular Medline search. FREE
.
- MedlinePlus Mobile
Health information for patients and families. Covers diseases, conditions, medications, wellness topics, and the latest news. FREE
.
Drug Information Apps
- mobile Micromedex Drug Essentials
Drug Essentials section of Micromedex. Provides drug, alternative medicine, disease, and toxicology information. Additional sections are available to users at a discounted personal cost. iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows
- LactMed App
Find information about maternal and infant drug levels, possible effects on lactation and on breastfed infants, and alternative drugs to consider. iPhone, Android. FREE.
- The Medical Letter
Critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drug classes for common diseases. iPhone, iPad, Android.
- mobilePDR app
Physician's Desk Reference App with quick drug lookup, current drug information, drug comparison, drug interaction checker, pill identifier
eTextbooks and eBooks
Mobile Apps
- EBSCO Database Collections App
Use the Ebsco mobile app to access databases, including CINAHL, PsychInfo, Academic Search Complete, and SPORTDiscus, as well as a large collection of eBooks. iPhone, iPad, Android
.
- STAT!RefAccess selected medical, dental, nursing and pharmacological textbooks and dictionaries, as well as medical calculators, ACP Smart Medicine, and AHFS DI Essentials. iPhone, iPad, Android
Mobile Optimized Websites
- eBraryeBrary is a large and growing collection of current English-language e-books, most of which are scholarly monographs covering a wide spectrum of subjects from the humanities to the health sciences. Mobile website.
.
Connect with us
