Basic/Biomedical Sciences Resources: Home

Database of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.

A large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.

Highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Supports drug discovery & development, pharmacovigilance, medical device development and post-market surveillance, and evidence-based medicine.

Database that utilizes artificial intelligence to enhance its search capabilities. Includes millions of papers from all fields of science published in academic journals, university presses, and scholarly societies from around the world.

Search engine for and access tool to millions of free academic articles in all subject and in all languages (as long as the article has an English title and abstract).

Search engine and access tool to millions of graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.

Allows you to find and access freely available research in all subjects found in academic repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories. In addition to its full-text standard searching that allows you identify specific items, OpenDOAR provides a geographic listing of repositories and an advanced browse/search facility that allows a number of filters.

Contains articles, books, and other educational materials published by McGraw-Hill. Includes resources on a variety of scientific topics, including biology, chemistry, engineering, food science, medicine, and health science.

Contains articles published by BioMed Central. Content focuses on biology, health, and medicine.

Contains articles, methods, and datasets published by PLoS. Content spans the entire basic science field.

Contains articles published by Sage Journals. Content covers a variety of topics, including humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.

Contains articles and book chapters published by Elsevier. Content covers a variety of topics, including physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

DOE ScienceCinema is a multimedia search tool provided by the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information, with video and audio files produced by DOE National Laboratories, other DOE research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN).

A large collection of recorded talks and multimedia presentations with printable slide notes, regularly updated and growing with over 1,500 talks covering a very broad range of biomedical, information and basic sciences topics