Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Basic/Biomedical Sciences Resources: Social Medicine
This guide contains a collection of helpful resources focused on the basic or biomedical sciences.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Social Medicine Resources
This page contains information on databases, journals, books, and web resources specific to social medicine. The home page of the guide contains more resources applicable to all biomedical sciences fields, so check the home page for additional resources.
The home page includes information on:
Databases
- AgeLine
AgeLine, produced by AARP, focuses on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy, and indexes journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos.
- Area Health Resources Files (AHRF)Data on health facilities, health professions, measures of resource scarcity, health status, economic activity, health training programs, and socioeconomic and environmental characteristics.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCINAHL Plus with Full Text is a collection of more than 770 full text nursing & allied health journals dating as far back as 1937, with bibliographic indexing for more than 5,000 additional nursing and related journals. Also included are select health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
- Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews (DoPHER)Database of more than 1,700 reviews of health promotion effectiveness.
- Sage DataAccess data on economics, crime, health, population, energy, the environment, and more in a single interface. Manipulate data; create charts, graphs, tables, maps. Data come from U.S. and international sources. For help, see the user guide.
- EthnoMedContains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.
- GenETHXDatabase of bibliographic citations for resources that cover ethical issues related to human genetics including research, iobanks, the ethical, legal, and social implications of genetic and genomic research and its applications.
- Global HealthA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. More than 2.6 million records from 1973 to the present day sourced from over 7,000 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other hard-to-find resources. Publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages. Over 185,000 records added each year.
- JAMAevidenceProvides tools for students and clinicians to evaluate and interpret medical literature and better understand the principles of Evidence Based Practice/Medicine, including the books Users' Guides to Medical Literature, The Rational Clinical Examination , etc.
- PsycInfoDatabase from the American Psychological Association covering the academic research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines (medicine, education, social work, etc.) from over 60 countries in more than 29 languages. It provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present.
Journals
- American Journal of BioethicsProvides a collection of scholarship about emerging issues in bioethics.
- Patient Education and CounselingFor patient education researchers, managers, clinicians, and others involved in patient education and counseling services and administration.
- Journal of Medical EthicsPresents interdisciplinary articles on ethical aspects of health care.
- American Journal of Public HealthContains reports of original research, demonstrations, evaluations, and other articles covering current aspects of public health.
- Sociology of Health and IllnessPublishes sociological articles on all aspects of health, illness, medicine and health care.
- Social Science and MedicineProvides an international forum among social scientists, medical researchers and practitioners, and health administrators and planners.
- Health Education BehaviorDiscusses the promotion of public health by elevating the quality of health education, improving medical practice, and stimulating research.
- Journal of Law, Medicine, and EthicsProvides articles on such timely topics as health care quality and access, managed care, pain relief, genetics, child/maternal health, reproductive health, informed consent, assisted dying, ethics committees, HIV/AIDS, and public health.
- Health and PlaceDesigned to the study of all aspects of health and health care in which place or location matters.
Books
- Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, Populations, Second Edition byISBN: 9780071834445Publication Date: 2016-06-21Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice and Populations, Second Edition clarifies current issues, best practices, and compliance with legislation like the Affordable Care Act, making it ideal for clinical and educational programs and policy-oriented institutions focused on health disparities and vulnerable populations.
- The Social Medicine Reader, Volume I, Third Edition byISBN: 9781478004356Publication Date: 2019-05-31The extensively updated and revised third edition of the bestselling Social Medicine Reader provides a survey of the challenging issues facing today's health care providers, patients, and caregivers with writings by scholars in medicine, the social sciences, and the humanities.