Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Basic/Biomedical Sciences Resources: Nutrition
This guide contains a collection of helpful resources focused on the basic or biomedical sciences.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Nutrition Resources
This page contains information on databases, journals, books, and web resources specific to nutrition. The home page of the guide contains more resources applicable to all biomedical sciences fields, so check the home page for additional resources.
The home page includes information on:
Databases
- AGRICOLAThe National Agriculture Library Catalog provides citations to literature in agriculture and allied disciplines, including veterinary sciences, entomology, aquaculture and fisheries, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences. Site does not contain full text articles.
- Food and Drink in HistoryPrimary source collection consisting of printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government documents, marketing reports, films and illustrated content from around the globe documenting the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere (1514-1980). Highlights of Module I include the cookbook collections from the University of California San Diego and Michigan State University, with a focus on Mexican, Latin American, Pacific Rim, Chinese early Californian, African and Asian cuisine.
Journals
- The American Journal of Clinical NutritionBrings out research contributed by scientists throughout the world, editorials, reviews, special articles, meeting reports.
- Clinical NutritionProvides essential scientific information on nutritional and metabolic care and the relationship between nutrition and disease both in the setting of basic science and clinical practice.
- European Journal of NutritionPublishes original papers, invited reviews, and short communications in nutritional sciences.
- Frontiers in NutritionPublishes articles on discoveries across a wide research spectrum of nutrition.
- International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical ActivityCovers all aspects of the behavioral features of diet and physical activity.
- Journal of Functional FoodsAims to bring together the results of fundamental and applied research into functional foods - those containing various factors to ensure or enhance health.
- NutritentsProvides a forum for studies related to human nutrition.
- Nutrition ReviewsInternational journal of authoritative and critical reviews of significant developments in all areas of nutrition science and policy.
- Public Health NutritionFocuses on the promotion of good health through nutrition and the primary prevention of nutrition related illness in the population.
Books
- Emerging Solutions in Sustainable Food and Nutrition Security byISBN: 3031409078Publication Date: 2023-10-29Emerging Solutions in Sustainable Food and Nutrition Security offers comprehensive and current insights into problems, emerging ideas, and solutions in sustainable nutrition. It aims to enhance understanding of the fundamentals and evolving landscapes of food systems, nutrition, and environmental sustainability.
- Handbook of Clinical Nutrition and Aging byISBN: 9781493919284Publication Date: 2014-11-28This book offers fresh perspectives and the latest scientific and clinical developments on nutrition's interaction with age-associated diseases, providing evidence-based options for optimal health and disease prevention. It covers a wide range of topics, including physical and cognitive function, various clinical conditions, food insecurity, anti-aging, and nutritional supplements.
- Nutrition Across Life Stages byISBN: 9781284207347Publication Date: 2022-02-16Nutrition Across Life Stages, Second Edition is designed for entry-level Nutrition and Dietetics students, focusing on nutritional requirements and challenges throughout each life stage. It highlights normal nutritional needs and explores the implications of nutrition for health and disease at each stage of life.
- Transformations of Global Food Systems for Climate Change Resilience byISBN: 9780367857622Publication Date: 2023-08-01This book discusses the unique role of anthropologists in taking a global, collaborative, and interdisciplinary response to addressing the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) to eliminate global hunger and poverty crises and achieve good health and well-being for all.