Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Basic/Biomedical Sciences Resources: Cell Biology and Physiology
This guide contains a collection of helpful resources focused on the basic or biomedical sciences.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Cell Biology and Physiology Resources
This page contains information on databases, journals, books, and web resources specific to cell biology and physiology. The home page of the guide contains more resources applicable to all biomedical sciences fields, so check the home page for additional resources.
The home page includes information on:
Databases
- Cell PressProvides access to the family of journals published by Cell Press, including the journal Cell.
- Current Protocols in Cell BiologyA reference for researchers who study the relationship between specific molecules and genes and their location, function, and structure at the cellular level. It includes nearly 1,000 detailed protocols, and special appendices on the use of inhibitors and pharmacologic agents, protein motifs, absorption and emission maxima for common fluorophores, and more. It offers expert research tips and guidelines for isolating and culturing cells in two- or three-dimensional cultures, analyzing the morphology of the cell, and characterizing the functions of organelles and molecules in the cell and its environment. (Source: vendor website) Access is funded by the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center.
- Current Protocols in Stem Cell BiologyProvides protocols for the isolation, characterization, and differentiation of embryonic and adult stem cells. Sufficient detail is provided to permit duplication of the protocols in any laboratory. Access is funded by the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center.
Journals
- CellPublishes research and reports on developments in molecular biology.
- Cell Death and DifferentiationDevoted to the cell biology, molecular biology and biochemistry of cell death and differentiation, both in normal tissue regulation and in disease.
- Cell Host & MicrobeProvides a forum for the exchange of ideas and concepts between scientists studying the microbe with those studying the host immune and cell biological response upon colonization or infection by a microbe.
- Cell MetabolismProvides a forum for the exchange of ideas and concepts across the entire metabolic research community, cultivating new areas and fostering cross-disciplinary collaborations in basic research and clinical investigation.
- Cell ResearchPublishes original articles, reviews, commentaries and rapid/brief communications in different fields of cell biology and molecular cell biology.
- Cell Stem CellCovers primary research, reviews, and commentaries, including issues of stem cell research policy and ethics.
- Molecular CellFocuses on biological analyses at the molecular level, with an emphasis on new mechanistic insights.
- Nature Cell BiologyBrings out papers from all areas of cell biology, encouraging those that shed light on the molecular mechanisms responsible for fundamental cell biological processes.
- Nature Reviews Molecular Cell BiologySubjects include chromosome biology, nucleic-acid metabolism, gene expression, nuclear transport, protein structure and metabolism, membrane dynamics, bioenergetics, cell signalling, cell growth and division, cytoskeletal dynamics, cell adhesion, developmental cell biology, cell death, cellular microbiology.
- Protein & CellPublishes original research articles, reviews, and commentaries on latest developments in multidisciplinary areas in biology and biomedicine, with an emphasis on protein and cell research.
- Trends in Cell BiologyProvides comprehensive coverage of new research developments, methodologies, and theories in all specializations of cell biology.
Books
- Essential Cell Biology byISBN: 9781324033356Publication Date: 2023-02-15Essential Cell Biology is an introductory cell biology textbook. The Sixth Edition includes new research on emerging areas and Check Your Understanding questions with detailed feedback throughout each chapter.
- Single-Molecule Cellular Biophysics byISBN: 9781139610049Publication Date: 2013-02Single Molecule Cellular Biophysics covers essential elements from state-of-the-art techniques to practical applications in understanding cellular mechanisms.