Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Basic/Biomedical Sciences Resources: Pharmacology
This guide contains a collection of helpful resources focused on the basic or biomedical sciences.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Pharmacology Resources
This page contains information on databases, journals, books, and web resources specific to pharmacology. The home page of the guide contains more resources applicable to all biomedical sciences fields, so check the home page for additional resources.
The home page includes information on:
Databases
- AHFS Drug InformationReference from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists including over 1,300 in-depth clinical drug monographs on over 40,000 represented medications and nearly all drug entities available in the United States. Note: When done, click the Logoff button at the top of the screen. Limited simultaneous users available.
- ProQuest Biological Science DatabaseJournals on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more
Journals
- Advanced Drug Delivery ReviewsPublishes critical review articles on current and emerging aspects of research into the design and development of advanced drug delivery systems and their application to experimental and clinical therapeutics.
- Annual Review of Pharmacology and ToxicologyPublishes reviews, filters and synthesizes primary research to identify the principal contributions in the fields of pharmacology and toxicology.
- Drug Resistance UpdatesFeatures reviews and commentaries on developments in drug resistance in infectious disease and cancer.
- Frontiers in PharmacologyPublishes research on all aspects of pharmacology including basic pharmacology, clinical pharmacology, medicinal chemistry, pharmacy and toxicology.
- International Journal of PharmaceuticsPublishes research results dealing with all aspects of pharmaceutics including physical, chemical, analytical, biological and engineering studies related to drug delivery.
- Molecular TherapyPublishes scientific meritorious papers in the areas of gene transfer, gene regulation, gene discovery, cell therapy, experimental models, correction of genetic and acquired diseases, clinical trials and significant methodological advances. Also publishes timely reviews, scientific correspondence and commentaries.
- PharmaceuticsPublishes reviews, regular research papers, communications, and short notes on pharmacokinetics, toxicokinetics, pharmacodynamics, pharmacogenetics and pharmacogenomics, and pharmaceutical formulation.
- Pharmacological ResearchPresents papers on basic and applied pharmacological research in both animals and man for the specialist whose fields of study vary widely within the discipline of pharmacology.
- Pharmacological ReviewsContains review articles on topics of interest to pharmacologists, toxicologists and biochemists.
- Pharmacology & TherapeuticsPresents reviews of important topics in pharmacology.
- Trends in Pharmacological SciencesCovers the sciences of pharmacology and toxicology.
Books
- Rang & Dale's Pharmacology byISBN: 9780323873956Publication Date: 2023-08-22Rang and Dale's Pharmacology is a core textbook for pharmacology students, providing accessible, up-to-date information on drugs and their mechanisms of action for over 30 years. The tenth edition includes new drugs like gene therapies, personalized medicines, and RNA drugs, while retaining its popular color coding and illustrations for reader-friendliness and comprehensive detail.
- Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 15e byISBN: 9781260452310Publication Date: 2020-12-05This book covers all aspects of medical pharmacology, including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs, with major revisions in key chapters and a new chapter on cannabis pharmacology. Each chapter features case studies, drug group coverage, summary tables, diagrams, and revised full-color illustrations to clarify drug mechanisms and effects, along with Trade Name/Generic Name tables for easy reference.
- Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Examination and Board Review, Thirteenth Edition byISBN: 9781260117127Publication Date: 2021-05-24This book contains a concise review of fundamental concepts backed by more than 1,000 review questions and answers. With fully up-to-date content, the chapter-based approach facilitates use with course notes or larger texts.