Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Basic/Biomedical Sciences Resources: Biomedical Engineering
This guide contains a collection of helpful resources focused on the basic or biomedical sciences.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Biomedical Engineering Resources
This page contains information on databases, journals, books, and web resources specific to biomedical engineering. The home page of the guide contains more resources applicable to all biomedical sciences fields, so check the home page for additional resources.
The home page includes information on:
Databases
- IEEE XploreAccess to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers). Contains Full-text IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards since 1988, plus select content back to 1950
- NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)Large number of interlinked specialty databases useful to molecular biologists, geneticists, and others researching genetic and protein sequences. The "How To" section of the NCBI site provides strategies for obtaining specific data from the system.
- ScitationProvides full-text access to journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Society of Civil Engineers, American Society of Mechanical Engineers International, International Society for Optical Engineering, and other science and engineering societies. Covers physics, astronomy, electronics, engineering, materials science, mathematics and associated disciplines
Journals
- Acta BiomaterialiaContains original research reports, review papers and communications in the broadly defined field of biomaterials science, with an emphasis on the relationship between biomaterial structure and function at all length scales.
- Annual Review of Biomedical EngineeringContains full text articles about biological engineering, including biotechnology.
- BiofabricationFocuses on using cells, proteins, biomaterials and other bioactive elements as building blocks to fabricate advanced biological models, medical therapeutic products and non-medical biological systems.
- Biosensors and BioelectronicsCovers research, technology and applications of biosensors and the exploitation of biochemicals in electronic devices.
- IEEE Reviews in Biomedical EngineeringAims to providing a platform for papers dealing with new developments and emerging trends in the field of biomedical engineering, an interdisciplinary field embracing engineering, life sciences and medicine.
- Nature Biomedical EngineeringCovers the full spectrum of research from the interdisciplinary discipline of biomedical engineering.
- Nature BiotechnologyProvides a first source for finding reports on the increasing number of important developments in the international industrial biotechnology industries.
- Nature MaterialsAims to cover all applied and fundamental aspects of the synthesis/processing, structure/composition, properties and performance of materials.
- Polymer ReviewsProvides topics of current interest in all areas of macromolecular science and engineering
Books
- Biomedical Engineering byISBN: 9783527826674Publication Date: 2022-11-04Biomedical Engineering: Materials, Technology, and Applications provides a comprehensive overview of the field, from basic concepts to advanced research for medical applications. It covers topics like biomaterials, tissue engineering, bioreceptor interactions, and various medical applications, including biomedical diagnosis, pharmaceutics, drug delivery, and cancer detection.
- Current Trends in Biomedical Engineering byISBN: 9783031387432Publication Date: 2023-10-30This book offers a broad overview of the latest updates and technological trends in biomedical engineering aimed at improving human health. It covers advances in various subfields, including rehabilitation technology, computational health systems, and medical devices, and explores unique topics like digital health, bioprinting, organs-on-a-chip, the open data paradigm, and electrical impedance tomography.