Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Basic/Biomedical Sciences Resources: Genetics
This guide contains a collection of helpful resources focused on the basic or biomedical sciences.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Genetics Resources
This page contains information on databases, journals, books, and web resources specific to genetics. The home page of the guide contains more resources applicable to all biomedical sciences fields, so check the home page for additional resources.
The home page includes information on:
Article Databases
- GenETHXDatabase of bibliographic citations for resources that cover ethical issues related to human genetics including research, iobanks, the ethical, legal, and social implications of genetic and genomic research and its applications.
Genetic Sequences and Expression Databases
- GeneCardsDatabase providing comprehensive, user-friendly information on all annotated and predicted human genes; gene-centric data from ~125 web sources, including genomic, transcriptomic, proteomic, genetic, clinical and functional information.
- GeneTestsFederally-funded, free database of clinical genetics testing information, including Gene Reviews, directories of laboratories and clinics, and some educational material for the public & clinicians.
- GEO DataSetsDatabase of curated gene expression DataSets, as well as original Series and Platform records in the Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) repository. Enter search terms to locate experiments of interest.
- Nucleotide DatabaseDatabase of genome, gene and transcript sequence data from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB.
- PopSet DatabaseDatabase of set of DNA sequences that have been collected to analyse the evolutionary relatedness of a population; originating from different members of the same species, or from organisms from different species.
- SNPDatabase of single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) and multiple small-scale variations that include insertions/deletions, microsatellites, and non-polymorphic variants.
Journals
- The American Journal of Human GeneticsExamines research into and the application of genetic principles in medicine, psychology, anthropology, and social services, as well as in related areas of molecular and cell biology.
- Genes and DevelopmentPublishes research papers of general interest and biological significance in molecular biology, molecular genetics and related areas.
- Genome BiologyPublishes research in genomics and all areas of molecular, cellular, organismal and population biology that are informed by genomics.
- Genome MedicinePublishes open access research articles in all areas of medicine studied from a genomic or post-genomic perspective.
- Genome ResearchFocuses on genome studies in all species, including genetic and physical mapping, DNA sequencing, gene discovery, informatics, statistical and mathematical methods and genome structure as well as technological innovations and applications.
- Nature GeneticsComprehensive coverage of new developments and issues in all branches of genetics, with particular emphasis on the human genome project and genetic aspects of disease.
- Nature Reviews GeneticsCovers wide-ranging subjects in modern genetics, including genomics, functional genomics, evolutionary genetics, technology, multifactorial genetics, disease, chromosome biology, epigenetics, developmental biology, gene expression.
- Nucleic Acids ResearchInternational rapid-publication journal on nucleic acids, constituents and analogues. Publishing RFLP sequence reprints, sequence data, NMR assignment data and methods.
- OncogeneCovers all aspects of the structure and function of oncogenes, especially cellular oncogenes and their mechanism of activation.
- Trends in GeneticsCovers all aspects of genetics, including molecular genetics, differentiation, development, clinical genetics, and recombinant DNA.
Books
- Essentials of Genetics byISBN: 0134898419Publication Date: 2019-01-04Essentials of Genetics is ideal for introductory genetics courses, focusing on essential topics and the latest breakthroughs. It emphasizes conceptual understanding, problem-solving, and practical applications to strengthen students' skills in genetics.
- Human Genetics byISBN: 9780073525365Publication Date: 2014-09-10Human Genetics: Concepts and Applications (10th Edition) emphasizes that human genetics is now a part of everyday conversation, focusing on common variations rather than rare illnesses. It demonstrates how genetic knowledge is both informative and empowering, helping people control their environments in healthier ways.