Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Basic/Biomedical Sciences Resources: Microbiology and Immunology
This guide contains a collection of helpful resources focused on the basic or biomedical sciences.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Microbiology and Immunology Resources
This page contains information on databases, journals, books, and web resources specific to microbiology and immunology. The home page of the guide contains more resources applicable to all biomedical sciences fields, so check the home page for additional resources.
The home page includes information on:
Databases
-
American Society for MicrobiologyThe Society's eleven journals cover the spectrum of microbiology, from molecular and cellular biology to biomedical research and technology
-
Current Protocols in ImmunologyA "best-practices" collection that provides coverage of immunological methods from classic to the most cutting edge. CPI covers the latest in antibody detection and preparation, molecular immunology, innate immunity, tumor immunology, engineering immune molecules and receptors, and more. It includes a recently-added chapter on sources and proven methods for isolation and characterization of stem and progenitor cells, as well as animal models for analyses. It offers reference information in five extensive appendices, including commonly used reagents, equipment and techniques; and a full appendix devoted to the CD system of leukocyte surface molecules. (Source: vendor website)
-
Current Protocols in Molecular BiologyIncludes more than 1,000 procedures from hundreds of biologists at top laboratories around the globe. CPMB offers basic methods for DNA preparation to advanced procedures for microarray analysis, chromatin assembly, and more; and covers emerging areas, including Drosophila and C. elegans basic techniques, mouse phenotyping, chemical biology, DNA construction by recombination. (Source: vendor website) Access is funded by the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center.
-
ProQuest Biological Science DatabaseJournals on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and mor
Journals
-
Annual Review of ImmunologyPublishes reviews synthesize and filter primary research in order to identify the principal contributions in the field of immunology.
-
Cellular & Molecular ImmunologyCovers latest information and advancements in immunology research and clinical applications.
-
Clinical Microbiology ReviewsAddresses reviews on all aspects of clinical and medical microbiology, including immunology.
-
Frontiers in ImmunologyPublishes research across basic, translational and clinical immunology.
-
Frontiers in MicrobiologyPublishes research from across the entire spectrum of microbiology.
-
ImmunityPublishes research articles and reviews of broad interest in the entire discipline of immunology.
-
Nature ImmunologyAims to publish papers of the highest significance in all areas of immunology.
-
Nature MicrobiologyProvides a place where all researchers and policymakers interested in microorganisms can come together to learn about the most accomplished and significant advances in the field and to discuss topical issues.
-
Nature Reviews ImmunologyCovers the research in immunology, from fundamental mechanisms to applied aspects.
-
Nature Reviews MicrobiologyPublishes reviews and perspectives highlighting important developments in our understanding of bacteria, viruses, fungi and protozoa, their interaction with their environments, how these organisms are harnessed in human endeavour and their impact on society.
-
Trends in BiotechnologyCovers all aspects of applied biosciences, including microbiology, molecular biology, immunology, plant and animal cell culture, agriculture and medicine.
-
Trends in ImmunologyProvides immunologists and transplantation researchers, and all other scientists with an interest in the theory, practice, applications and techniques of modern immunology.
-
Trends in MicrobiologyProvides a forum for the discussion of all aspects of infection, covering dynamics, cell biology, immunology, genetics and evolution of infectious organisms, including fungi, and bacteria and viruses, as well as their plant and animal hosts.
Books
-
Basic Immunology byISBN: 0443105197Publication Date: 2023-05-29This book emphasizes the clinical aspects of immunology, covering disease pathogenesis and the development of novel therapies based on basic science. It also includes an appendix of clinical cases for real-world application.
-
A Concise Manual of Pathogenic Microbiology byISBN: 9781118301210Publication Date: 2012-10-26This book serves as a quick, concise reference to pathogenic microorganisms and the diseases they cause, organized into groups like bacteria, protozoa, fungi, viruses, and prions. It covers their natural habitats, diseases, microbiological highlights, laboratory diagnosis, and prevention and control measures, making it a valuable resource for healthcare professionals and public health workers.
-
Practical Handbook of Microbiology byISBN: 9781000245011Publication Date: 2021-05-04This book offers a comprehensive overview of microorganisms, from classical microbiology to genomics. It covers disease-causing bacteria, bacterial viruses (phage), extremophiles, antimicrobial agents, the microbiome, gene editing with CRISPR, parasites, fungi, and animal viruses.
-
Roitt's Essential Immunology byISBN: 9781118416068Publication Date: 2016-11-15Roitt's Essential Immunology provides a clear explanation of key immunology principles for medical and health sciences students, from basic immunity to clinical applications. It covers the fundamentals of immunology, the immune system's defense strategies, and applied immunology topics like cancer, immunodeficiency, allergies, transplantation, and vaccines.