Occupational Science/Occupational Therapy Resources: Databases
Major Medical & Interdisciplinary Databases
Anatomy & Physiology Resources
Occupations Search (including Leisure/Recreation Related Topics)
Some databases to try, depending upon the focus of your search. Remember that IF you need scholarly journal articles, you may have to filter or limit your results.
OT - Specific Databases include OT Search and OT Seeker (see links on this page)
Some General Databases include these:
Some additional databases to try, depending upon your topic/occupation include these:
- Sociological Abstracts
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text
- Sports Medicine & Education Index
Some potential search terms that may help focus your search (check each database's subject headings or thesaurus for more). Depending upon the occupation you are searching and the database, it sometimes helps to narrow your search by pairing one or another of these terms with your occupation term.
- leisure or leisure time
- recreational activities
Other Core Databases for OS/OT
More guides from Main Library & HSL
To broaden your research, use E-Research by Discipline from Davis Library and the additional HSL guides, below.
- Each E-Research Discipline includes librarian contacts, databases, e-journals, guides, related resources.
Implicit Bias Resources Guide
"Implicit biases are discriminatory biases based on implicit attitudes or implicit stereotypes. Implicit biases are especially intriguing, and also especially problematic, because they can produce behavior that diverges from a person's avowed or endorsed beliefs or principles."
Greenwald, Anthony G., and Linda Hamilton Krieger. "Implicit Bias: Scientific Foundations." California Law Review 94, no. 4 (2006): 945-67. doi:10.2307/20439056.
Learn How to Use Library Databases
Disability Search Tips and Resources - Nancy Schaefer (2015)
Find @ UNC
Click on the button in database results to:
- Go directly to most online articles
- Export article citations to Endnote or to formats for other reference managers
- Use Google Scholar or the Google Scholar Button browser add-in to find free full text.
- Search the UNC-CH Library Catalog to find the print journal
- Send an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if the journal is not owned by UNC-CH
Allied Health Sciences Liaison
- Barbara's Profile
- HSL News/Features
- All Allied Health Sciences & Related Guides
- Alternative Academic Careers (ALTAC) Guide
- Appreciative Inquiry & Positive Psychology Resources
- Sciwheel Guide
- Fogarty Global Health Fellowship Poster Resources
- Implicit Bias Resources
- Qualitative Research Resources
- So You Want to Be a Librarian?
- Writing in the Health Sciences