Dentistry: Operative Dentistry
Created by Health Science Librarians
Suggestions & Feedback
Help improve this page by sharing your suggestions and feedback via email on topics including but not limited to:
- adding a resource to this page;
- fixing a broken link;
- perceptions of this page (usefulness as well as opportunities for improvement);
- and any other thoughts you'd like to share!
Dentistry Librarian
Emily Jones, MLIS, AHIP
she/her/hers
Contact:
epjones3@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564Overview
This webpage is designed specifically for Adams School of Dentistry students and practicing clinicians looking to enhance their skills and knowledge in operative dentistry. This page is intended to be a valuable guide that connects library and publicly available resources to you in order to enhance your educational journey, research endeavors, and clinical practice.
Here you'll find:
- Comprehensive learning materials covering operative dentistry concepts;
- Current research summaries and evidence-based clinical guidelines;
- Diagnostic and treatment planning resources;
- Operative dentistry focused journals and study aids.
Explore this carefully curated content to deepen your understanding of operative dentistry. We invite you to delve into our resources and hope they prove invaluable in your pursuit of excellence in operative and restorative dentistry.
Core Resources
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 10e by ISBN: 9780323809450Publication Date: 2023-05-01Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient provides the information needed to assess common problems and make safe dental management decisions. Each chapter features informative illustrations and well-organized tables to provide you with in-depth details and overall summaries required for understanding and applying medical concepts in dentistry.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by ISBN: 9781684470051Publication Date: 2019-01-02Step-by-step instructions to aid in identifying and managing common medical emergencies, such as: Fainting, Asthma attacks, Allergic reactions, seizures, diabetic events, high and low blood pressure, strokes, and cardiac arrest.
Sturdevant's Art and Science of Operative Dentistry by ISBN: 9780323478335Publication Date: 2018-01-24Master the fundamentals and procedures of restorative and preventive dentistry and learn to make informed decisions to solve patient needs. It's the practicing dentist's complete guide to all aspects of operative dentistry.
Textbook of Operative Dentistry by ISBN: 9789351526339Publication Date: 2015-08-31Textbook of Operative Dentistry is the latest edition of this richly illustrated resource, covering diagnosis, treatment and prognosis of dental problems which do not require full coverage restoration.
Essentials of Dental Caries by ISBN: 9780198738268Publication Date: 2016-07-26Provides readers with an up-to-date, clinically relevant guide to dental caries. Current methods of clinical diagnosis and evidence based management are outlined in clearly laid out and highly illustrated chapters.
Procedure Resources
Dental Materials
Phillips' Science of Dental Materials by ISBN: 9780323697552Publication Date: 2021-07-22Provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on the materials used in cosmetic and restorative procedures in dentistry. It introduces the physical and chemical properties that are related to selection and use of dental biomaterials, including their composition, mechanical properties, manipulative variables, and the performance of dental restorations and prostheses.
A Review on Dental Materials by ISBN: 9783030489304Publication Date: 2020-06-26Presenting insights form a broad range of disciplines, including materials science, biology, physiology and clinical science, this book provides a timely review of the principles, processing and application of dental materials.
Minimally-Invasive Techniques
Pickard's Guide to Minimally Invasive Operative Dentistry by ISBN: 9780198712091Publication Date: 2015-08-18An ideal introduction to the theory and practical aspects of conservative dentistry, the tenth edition of Pickards' Guide to Minimally Invasive Operative Dentistry is a must-have text for all dental students, new graduates and oral healthcare professionals alike.
Restorative Dentistry
Craig's Restorative Dental Materials by ISBN: 9780323478212Publication Date: 2018-04-11Master the use of dental materials with this all-in-one guide to restorative materials and procedures! Craig's Restorative Dental Materials, 14th Edition covers everything you need to know to understand the science of selecting dental materials when designing and fabricating restorations.
Clinical Cases in Restorative and Reconstructive Dentistry by ISBN: 9780813815640Publication Date: 2010-09-07Clinical Cases in Restorative and Reconstructive Dentistry describes the principles and demonstrates their practical, every-day application through a range of representative cases building from the simple to the complex and from the common to the rare. This unique approach supports the new trend in case-based and problem-based learning, thoroughly covering topics ranging from infant oral health to complex pulp therapy.
Extra-Coronal Restorations by ISBN: 9783319790923Publication Date: 2019This book is a state of the art clinical guide to contemporary materials and techniques for the restoration of individual teeth and implants. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Pediatric Resources
Pediatric Restorative Dentistry by ISBN: 9783319934259Publication Date: 2018-09-24This book describes and discusses the different restorative options for managing carious lesions in children with primary and mixed dentition. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Digital Dentistry
Clinical Applications of Digital Dental Technology by ISBN: 9781119800606Publication Date: 2023Provides comprehensive yet practical references to a wide range of potential uses for digital technology in dental practice, discussing a wide range of digital technologies including their indications, contraindications, advantages, disadvantages, limitations, and applications.
Digital Dentistry: A Step-by-Step Guide and Case Atlas by ISBN: 9781119852025Publication Date: 2022-04-29Pprovides basic information on the use of digital resources to find a diagnosis, create a treatment plan, and execute that strategy within different dental specialisms. This manual includes the science behind all procedures that use digital technology and provides a clinical step-by-step guide toward the use of these developments for every dental specialty area.
Dental Aesthetics
Practical Procedures in Aesthetic Dentistry by ISBN: 9781119032984Publication Date: 2017-03-20Practical Procedures in Aesthetic Dentistry presents a comprehensive collection of videos demonstrating clinical techniques in aesthetic and restorative dentistry, and is accompanied by a handbook summarizing the key points of each procedure.
Ronald E. Goldstein's Esthetics in Dentistry by ISBN: 9781119272946Publication Date: 2018-07-07Provides a current, comprehensive examination of all aspects of esthetic and cosmetic dentistry.
Advances in Esthetic Implant Dentistry by ISBN: 9781119286677Publication Date: 2019-03-11Provides a current, comprehensive overview of esthetic implant therapy. Offering innovative step-by-step protocols for surgical techniques and case studies, the book presents practical, clinically oriented guidance firmly anchored in solid scientific research.
Color in Dentistry by ISBN: 9780867157451Publication Date: 2017-08-01Predictable shade matching in dentistry remains a significant challenge for clinicians in daily practice. This book provides step-by-step protocols to help dental professionals accurately match, communicate, and reproduce the color of teeth and gingiva. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Guidelines & Policy Statements
- Restorative Treatments for Caries Lesions Clinical Practice Guideline (ADA)This clinical practice guideline from the American Dental Association (2023) will recommend which direct restorative materials and caries removal approaches to use for primary and permanent teeth.
- Acute Dental Pain Management Guideline (ADA)These clinical practical guidelines from the American Dental Association (2023/2024) present recommendations on managing acute oral pain in children, adolescents and adults.
- Clinical Practice Guidelines and Dental Evidence (ADA)
Collection of guidelines and evidence-based dentistry resources from the ADA.
Stay Current: Newly Published Guidelines
Loading ...
Operative Dentistry Journals
A list of selected operative-focused journals can be found below. This is not a comprehensive listing of all operative dentistry journals.
Looking for another journal? Search the Libraries' e-Journal portal by title or ISSN. All electronic journals that we subscribe to will be listed here. If you're looking for an article in a journal we do not have access to, then use our Interlibrary Loan Services to request a PDF copy at no cost to you (UNC affiliates only). View these step-by-step instructions on using Interlibrary Loan for more information.
Study Aids & Board Review
- Academy of Operative Dentistry BoardInformation about eligibility criteria, the board certification process, and application forms can be found on their Facebook page. Click on the "Files" tab on the Facebook page to find all forms.
- Adams School of Dentistry Graduate Program in Operative Dentistry and BiomaterialsAdams School of Dentistry's Graduate Program in Operative Dentistry and Biomaterials website.
Professional Organizations
- Academy of Operative DentistryAcademy of Operative Dentistry website.
- American Dental AssocationAmerican Dental Association website.
- American Dental Education Association (ADEA)Website for the American Dental Education Association. Membership is free to all students, faculty, and staff affiliated with an ADEA member institution.
- North Carolina Dental SocietyWebsite for the North Carolina Dental Society.