Dentistry: ASOD Course Textbooks
Created by Health Science Librarians
Suggestions & Feedback
Help improve this page by sharing your suggestions and feedback via email on topics including but not limited to:
- adding a resource to this page;
- fixing a broken link;
- perceptions of this page (usefulness as well as opportunities for improvement);
- and any other thoughts you'd like to share!
Dentistry Librarian
Emily Jones, MLIS, AHIP
she/her/hers
Contact:
epjones3@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564Overview
This webpage is specifically designed to connect Adams School of Dentistry (ASOD) students to required course textbooks provided by UNC Libraries. This page is updated once per year and only lists texts if they are accessible via the UNC Libraries. Some texts have limitations to how many students can access at once, and this is noted under each text. Textbooks are organized by tabs for courses, which are grouped by DDS year.
If you're a faculty member who would like to request an update to this page, or a student with a question about access, please contact the ASOD librarian, Emily Jones.
D1 Textbooks
How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Clinical Decision-Making by ISBN: 9781684470624Publication Date: 2019-11-15The definitive resource for dental students and practitioners who want to learn from leaders in the field of evidence-based dentistry (EBD); quickly conduct searches for the latest research; master the skill of critically appraising clinical studies; confidently apply the latest research to patient care; teach others how to inform their practice with the latest clinical evidence. The ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry oversaw the development of this publication.
The required text for DENT 541 is PEAK: Secrets from the New Science of Expertise by Anders Ericsson and Robert Pool. UNC Libraries has limited copies of this book in electronic and print versions.
Peak by ISBN: 9780544947221Publication Date: 2017-04-11UNC Libraries owns two copies of the print version of this book.
D2 Textbooks
Pediatric Dentistry by ISBN: 9780323608268Publication Date: 2018-07-18Provides comprehensive coverage of oral care for infants, children, teenagers, and medically compromised pediatric patients. Organized by age group, the text covers examination, diagnosis, and treatment planning, as well as topics such as the prevention of dental disease, traumatic injuries, orthodontics, and restorative dentistry. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology and Implantology, 14e by ISBN: 9780323878876Publication Date: 2024Unmatched for its comprehensive approach, this resource provides detailed, up-to-date information on the etiology and pathogenesis of periodontal disease.
D3 Textbooks
Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry by
Helps you create person-centered dental treatment plans for adolescent and adult patients. Using evidence-based research, this text shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process.
ISBN: 9780323809757Publication Date: 2023-04-03
D4 Textbooks
Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, 4e by
Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, 4th Edition provides state-of-the-art information on the wide variety of diseases that may affect the oral and maxillofacial region.
ISBN: 9781455770526Publication Date: 2015
ASOD Graduate Programs
Cohen's Pathways of the Pulp, 12e by ISBN: 9780323673037Publication Date: 2020-10-01This definitive guide covers the science, theory, and practice of endodontics. Full color illustrations and detailed radiographs guide readers through each step of endodontic care - from diagnosis and treatment planning to proven techniques for managing pulpal and periapical diseases.
Ingle's Endodontics by ISBN: 9781607959359Publication Date: 2019-04-20This text covers the most current concepts and techniques in endodontics. With contributions from the world’s experts in all phases of the specialty, Ingle’s Endodontics, 7th edition, promises to be the indispensable endodontic textbook, an essential part of every endodontist’s library.
Endodontics: Principles and Practice, 6e by ISBN: 9780323624367Publication Date: 2020-08-19This focused and extensively revised new edition contains all the clinically-relevant information needed to incorporate endodontics into general dentistry practice.
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 10th ed. by ISBN: 9780323809450Publication Date: 2023-05-01Provides information needed to assess common problems and make safe dental management decisions. Each chapter features informative illustrations and well-organized tables to provide you with in-depth details and overall summaries required for understanding and applying medical concepts in dentistry.
Essentials of Traumatic Injuries to the Teeth by ISBN: 9780470698822Publication Date: 2000The clinician is guided through the initial examination of the traumatized patient to the design of a rational, individualized treatment plan This approach is aimed at minimizing the risk of long-term complications and, thereby, alleviating the uncertainty of the future of the the traumatized dentition both for the patient, dentist and for other concerned individuals.
Seltzer and Bender's Dental Pulp, 2e by ISBN: 9780867154801Publication Date: 2011-08-01This comprehensive update of a classic text presents the latest research on the dental pulp and its interaction with other tissues, highlighting its central role in both local and systemic health.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by ISBN: 9781684470051Publication Date: 2019-01-02Step-by-step instructions to aid in identifying and managing common medical emergencies, such as: Fainting, Asthma attacks, Allergic reactions, seizures, diabetic events, high and low blood pressure, strokes, and cardiac arrest.
Inflammation: a review of the process, 5e [Print book only] by Call Number: QZ 150 T863i 1997ISBN: 0867153105Publication Date: 1997Access to print book only.
Orofacial Pain: Guidelines for Assessment, Diagnosis, and Management, 5e [Print book only] by Call Number: WE 705 O74 2013ISBN: 9780867156102Publication Date: 2013-05-01The AAOP Guidelines for Assessment, Diagnosis, and Management of Orofacial Pain is an invaluable resource for all health care professionals who evaluate and treat patients with orofacial pain and face the daunting task of "keeping up with the literature" in the rapidly emerging arena of pain management in clinical practice. Access to print book only.
Orofacial Pain and Headache [Print book only] by Call Number: WE 705 O743 2008ISBN: 9780723434122Publication Date: 2008-06-24OROFACIAL PAIN AND HEADACHE is a timely, comprehensive and instructive addition to the pain literature; in particular the important and truly multidisciplinary area of orofacial pain. Access to print book only.
Designing Clinical Research (4th ed.) by Call Number: WA 950 D457 2013 (Health Sciences Library)ISBN: 1608318044Publication Date: 2013
5th edition is missing from HSL collection (print only).
Radiobiology for the Radiologist by ISBN: 9781496335418Publication Date: 2018-06-08Considered the "gold standard" in the field for over 45 years, Radiobiology for the Radiologist combines traditional and molecular radiation biology principles and appeals to students, residents, and veteran clinical practitioners.
