Dentistry: Clinic Tools & Resources
Created by Health Science Librarians
Suggestions & Feedback
Help improve this page by sharing your suggestions and feedback via email on topics including but not limited to:
- adding a resource to this page;
- fixing a broken link;
- perceptions of this page (usefulness as well as opportunities for improvement);
- and any other thoughts you'd like to share!
Dentistry Librarian
Emily Jones, MLIS, AHIP
she/her/hers
Contact:
epjones3@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564Overview
This page is designed to support dental professionals and students with a wide range of tools and resources for use in clinical practice.
This guide includes:
- Point-of-care tools providing condition overviews and evidence-based summaries, such as DynaMed and VisualDx.
- Resources on managing patients with medical conditions and handling dental emergencies.
- Access to guidelines and policy statements from reputable dental organizations.
- Drug information sources, including dentistry-specific resources and general drug databases.
- Information on dental anesthesia and sedation techniques.
- Language resources and translation tools for communicating with diverse patient populations.
- Patient education materials covering various oral health topics in plain language.
Whether you're looking for quick clinical summaries, guidelines, detailed drug information, or patient handouts, this guide aims to provide the resources you need for evidence-based dental practice.
Clinical Information
Condition overview & summaries
Point-of-care tools provide condition overviews and summaries using high quality information in an easy to use format. They are intended to be used while seeing a patient "at the point of care". Most of these tools are evidence-based and provide information on ratings, grades, or appraisal of the recommendations as well as references to guidelines, systematic reviews, and primary studies.
Several point-of-care, textbooks, and other resources are listed on this page, grouped by the type of information they provide. When available, links and instructions to download mobile apps are provided, as they can be easier to use in the clinic setting.
- DynaMed Mobile App
First, create an account by accessing DynaMed from the HSL site. Then, download the app and login with your username and password.
- DynaMedDynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Content is written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis
- VisualDxA point-of-care visual diagnostic clinical decision support system including more than 17,000 dermatology, oral pathology, ophthalmology, public health, drug reaction, and other images; differential builder, travel info, mobile app available. Enter a travel destination to see all currently endemic diseases and/or outbreaks.
Patients with Medical Conditions & Medical Emergencies
Patients with Medical Conditions & Medical Emergencies
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 10e by ISBN: 9780323809450Publication Date: 2023-05-01Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient provides the information needed to assess common problems and make safe dental management decisions. Each chapter features informative illustrations and well-organized tables to provide you with in-depth details and overall summaries required for understanding and applying medical concepts in dentistry.
The ADA Practical Guide to Patients with Medical Conditions by ISBN: 9781118929285Publication Date: 2015-08-13This evidence-based guide takes a patient-focused approach to help you deliver safe, coordinated oral health care for patients with medical conditions. Contains disease descriptions, pathogenesis, coordination of care between the dentist and physician, and key questions to ask the patient and physician.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by ISBN: 9781684470051Publication Date: 2019-01-02Step-by-step instructions to aid in identifying and managing common medical emergencies, such as: Fainting, Asthma attacks, Allergic reactions, seizures, diabetic events, high and low blood pressure, strokes, and cardiac arrest.
Management of Dental Emergencies in Children and Adolescents by ISBN: 9781119372646Publication Date: 2019-09-10Management of Dental Emergencies in Children and Adolescents presents the diagnostic skills, treatment options, and management strategies necessary to provide effective and appropriate dental care for children and adolescents. This authoritative manual helps dental practitioners manage potentially stressful situations with children and adolescents while improving their competence in a wide range of urgent pediatric situations.
Medical Emergencies in Dental Practice by ISBN: 9780867155693Publication Date: 2016-01-01This accessible manual addresses the most common medical emergencies encountered during dental treatment. Step-by-step treatment guidelines and decision-making algorithms outline the steps for immediate treatment and make this practical book an essential office manual.
Guidelines & Policy Statements
Guidelines & Policy Statements
Quickly search these resources for guidelines from reputable organizations. This is not a comprehensive listing of all guidelines. If you are not finding relevant guidelines listed in these resources, then the next step would be to perform a literature search.
- Clinical Practice Guidelines and Dental Evidence (ADA)
Collection of guidelines and evidence-based dentistry resources from the ADA. - ECRI Guidelines TrustFilter guidelines by clinical practice area to dentistry.
- Endodontic Guidelines & Position Statements (AAE)Guidelines and policies from the American Association of Endodontists.
- Clinical Practice Guidelines (AAO)The American Association of Orthodontists provides Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPG) as a complete overview of the orthodontic clinical process from diagnosis to completion of treatment. These guidelines were derived from a professional consensus, based on a review of relevant clinical and scientific literature, the expert opinion of educators, and the clinical experience of practicing orthodontists. Access to these resources requires AAO membership.
- Pediatric Oral Health Policies & Recommendations (AAPD)List of policies and recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry.
- AAP Best Evidence ConsensusCollection of best evidence consensus papers from the American Academy of Periodontology.
- ACP Position StatementsLinks to all position statements approved by the American College of Prosthodontists Board of Directors.
- Oral Surgery Guidelines (AAOMS)Reports or guidelines issued by the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons expressing the association's position on various issues.
- Dental Sleep Medicine Guidelines (AADSM)The American Academy of Dental Sleep Medicine has developed statements and guidelines to treat patients with snoring and obstructive sleep apnea using oral appliance therapy.
Not finding what you need?
If you've searched the tools above and aren't finding relevant information, if may be helpful to search for guidelines, systematic reviews, or other high--quality, synthesized literature. Search these resources next.
Drug Information
Dental Drug Information
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by ISBN: 9780323779364Publication Date: 2021-03-01Ideal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 13th Edition provides guidelines for safe, accurate drug administration. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find the information most relevant to oral healthcare practitioners, including indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug data.
ADA Dental Drug Handbook by ISBN: 9781684470525Publication Date: 2018-10-01The ADA Dental Drug Handbook contains the latest information from dental pharmacology's leading experts. Intended for use by practicing dentists, students, dental educators, it covers the drugs most commonly used in the dental practice, with information about dosage, possible interactions, potential complications and more.
The Dentist's Drug and Prescription Guide by ISBN: 9781119539384Publication Date: 2020-02-07The updated and authoritative reference to medications used in dental practice. **Limited to one user at a time.**
General Drug Information
- Micromedex Mobile App (Drug Essentials only)
Links out to instructions for downloading an setting up the mobile app. Drug Essentials section of Micromedex only - additional sections are available to users at a discounted personal cost. iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows.
- Micromedex (On Campus Only)
Search for drug information by drug, disease, or toxicology. Additional tools (accessed via top tabs) provide information about drug interactions; IV compatibility; drug ID; and drug comparisons. NeoFax provides pediatric drug information. Use mobile instructions for off-campus access. - Facts & Comparisons e-Answers
Drug information, interactions, herbal information, and patient medication handouts are seamlessly updated and can be customized; includes Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction FactsTM, The Review of Natural Products and Med Facts: Patient Information.
Natural & Herbal Supplements
- Natural Medicines
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies including herbal remedies and supplements, with validated rating scales and grades to quickly evaluate quality; comprehensive monographs designed to facilitate clinical decision making. Includes content drawn from the former Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits available.
Dental Anesthesia & Sedation
Sedation: a guide to patient management, 6e by ISBN: 9780323400534Publication Date: 2017-06-30This concise guide combines essential theory with "how-to" technical instruction to help you master basic techniques in dental sedation and anxiety control.
Handbook of Local Anesthesia by ISBN: 9780323582070Publication Date: 2019-06-13Learn to prevent, recognize, and manage complications of local anesthesia administration.
Nitrous Oxide in Pediatric Dentistry by ISBN: 9783030296179Publication Date: 2019-12-13This clinical handbook is a complete guide to the use of nitrous oxide when performing dental procedures in children. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Anesthesia Complications in the Dental Office by ISBN: 9780470960295Publication Date: 2015-06-15Anesthesia Complications in the Dental Office helps dentists minimize the frequency and severity of adverse events by providing concise and clinically relevant information that can be put to everyday use.
Translator & Language Resources
- Canopy Speak Medical Translator AppTranslator app for clinicians interacting with limited-English patients. Includes a large library of pre-translated phrases with text and audio in 15 languages. Set up a link to UNC Health Care or UNC Dentistry translation services.
- Dental Dictionary Mobile App
Dental dictionary is a free mobile app for both Apple and Android users. "Dental Dictionary by Farlex gives you free, instant access to more than 55,000 dental terms and thousands of audio pronunciations and images, all from authoritative sources, including McGraw-Hill, Houghton Mifflin, Dorland's, Gale, and more."
Patient Education
Patient information in plain language from reliable sources. Search for topics, share information directly with patients, or download and print handouts, when available.
- MedlinePlus (Mouth & Teeth)MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. This links to their collection of mouth and teeth topics. Each topic contains summary information and patient handouts. May also contain links to information in other languages on the right side of the site page.
- Mouth Healthy (ADA)Patient information from the ADA. Includes information for adults, pregnant women, parents of children, teens, and children.
- Health Information (NIDCR)Health information from the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. Many topics are also available in Spanish.
- Patient Education (Clinical Key)Filter to "Dentistry" topics. Contains dozens of topics which are printable and available in different languages. Only available to UNC affiliates with an active Onyen.
- Oral Health Fact Sheets (CDA)Information from the California Dental Association (CDA) on some of the most common issues affecting dental patients. Patient fact sheets are available in English, Spanish, Chinese, Russian, Hmong and Vietnamese.
Dental Care and Oral Health Sourcebook, 7e by ISBN: 9780780820685Publication Date: 2023-05-01Provides basic consumer health information about dental hygiene, preventive care, and oral health concerns for children and adults, with facts about surgical, orthodontic, and orofacial procedures, and diseases of the mouth and jaw.