Dentistry: Drug Information
Created by Health Science Librarians
Dentistry Librarian
Emily Jones, MLIS, AHIP
she/her/hers
Contact:
epjones3@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564Overview
This webpage is specifically designed for Adams School of Dentistry students and clinicians seeking information on drug information, anesthesia, and sedation. The goal of this webpage is to connect you to library and publicly available resources on drug information, anesthesia, and sedation in the dental setting.
Explore this carefully curated content to deepen your understanding of drug information, anesthesia, and sedation.
Drug Information
Dental Drug Information
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by ISBN: 9780323779364Publication Date: 2021-03-01Ideal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 13th Edition provides guidelines for safe, accurate drug administration. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find the information most relevant to oral healthcare practitioners, including indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug data.
ADA Dental Drug Handbook by ISBN: 9781684470525Publication Date: 2018-10-01The ADA Dental Drug Handbook contains the latest information from dental pharmacology's leading experts. Intended for use by practicing dentists, students, dental educators, it covers the drugs most commonly used in the dental practice, with information about dosage, possible interactions, potential complications and more.
The Dentist's Drug and Prescription Guide by ISBN: 9781119539384Publication Date: 2020-02-07The updated and authoritative reference to medications used in dental practice. **Limited to one user at a time.**
General Drug Information
- Micromedex Mobile App (Drug Essentials only)
Links out to instructions for downloading an setting up the mobile app. Drug Essentials section of Micromedex only - additional sections are available to users at a discounted personal cost. iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows.
- Micromedex (On Campus Only)
Search for drug information by drug, disease, or toxicology. Additional tools (accessed via top tabs) provide information about drug interactions; IV compatibility; drug ID; and drug comparisons. NeoFax provides pediatric drug information. Use mobile instructions for off-campus access. - Facts & Comparisons e-Answers
Drug information, interactions, herbal information, and patient medication handouts are seamlessly updated and can be customized; includes Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction FactsTM, The Review of Natural Products and Med Facts: Patient Information.
Natural & Herbal Supplements
- Natural Medicines
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies including herbal remedies and supplements, with validated rating scales and grades to quickly evaluate quality; comprehensive monographs designed to facilitate clinical decision making. Includes content drawn from the former Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits available.
Dental Anesthesia & Sedation
Sedation: a guide to patient management, 6e by ISBN: 9780323400534Publication Date: 2017-06-30This concise guide combines essential theory with "how-to" technical instruction to help you master basic techniques in dental sedation and anxiety control.
Handbook of Local Anesthesia by ISBN: 9780323582070Publication Date: 2019-06-13Learn to prevent, recognize, and manage complications of local anesthesia administration.
Nitrous Oxide in Pediatric Dentistry by ISBN: 9783030296179Publication Date: 2019-12-13This clinical handbook is a complete guide to the use of nitrous oxide when performing dental procedures in children. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Anesthesia Complications in the Dental Office by ISBN: 9780470960295Publication Date: 2015-06-15Anesthesia Complications in the Dental Office helps dentists minimize the frequency and severity of adverse events by providing concise and clinically relevant information that can be put to everyday use.
Suggestions & Feedback
Help improve this page by sharing your suggestions and feedback via email on topics including but not limited to:
- adding a resource to this page;
- fixing a broken link;
- perceptions of this page (usefulness as well as opportunities for improvement);
- and any other thoughts you'd like to share!