Dentistry: Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
Created by Health Science Librarians
Suggestions & Feedback
Help improve this page by sharing your suggestions and feedback via email on topics including but not limited to:
- adding a resource to this page;
- fixing a broken link;
- perceptions of this page (usefulness as well as opportunities for improvement);
- and any other thoughts you'd like to share!
Dentistry Librarian
Emily Jones, MLIS, AHIP
she/her/hers
Contact:
epjones3@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564Overview
Discover a comprehensive collection of library resources tailored for oral and maxillofacial surgery. The intention of this page is to connect UNC students and clinicians to library and publicly available resources for oral surgery and includes:
- Comprehensive resources covering fundamental and advanced oral and maxillofacial surgery concepts,
- Evidence-based clinical guidelines,
- Oral and maxillofacial surgery journals and professional organizations.
Whether you're looking to enhance your clinical skills or stay updated on the latest advancements this webpage is your go-to source for oral surgery information at UNC. We invite you to delve into our resources and hope they deepen your understanding of oral and maxillofacial surgery.
Core Resources
Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by ISBN: 9780323552219Publication Date: 2018-11-29This comprehensive text on oral surgery procedures features full-color photographs and drawings that show how to perform basic surgical techniques, including an overview of more advanced surgical procedures and the latest developments in dental implants, instrumentation, and current technology.
Fonseca's Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, 3e by ISBN: 9780323414951Publication Date: 2017-01-01Covers the full scope of the field with up-to-date, evidence-based coverage of surgical procedures performed today - including cleft and craniofacial surgeries, oral surgery, oncologic surgery, orthognathic surgery, trauma surgery, surgical pathology, surgery of TMJ disorders, dental implants, dentoalveolar surgery, cosmetic surgery, and reconstructive surgery.
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Medicine, and Pathology for the Clinician by ISBN: 9781119362555Publication Date: 2023-05-03Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Medicine, and Pathology for the Clinician presents key clinical information on oral surgery, medicine, and pathology in a single, easy-to-use resource, covering procedures performed in the dental clinic in a clear but concise manner and putting key details at the clinician's fingertips. Clinical scenarios are clearly described with treatment flow paths, and to enable seamless reader comprehension, charts and algorithms also support the text.
Essentials of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by ISBN: 9781118860724Publication Date: 2014-03-11Expert teaching in the fundamentals of oral and maxillofacial surgery, Essentials of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is the key textbook for all undergraduate dentistry students and trainees starting out in oral and maxillofacial surgery, oral surgery and surgical dentistry.
Oxford Handbook of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by ISBN: 9780198767817Publication Date: 2018-10-16Now in its second edition, the Oxford Handbook of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery has been fully updated to reflect current guidelines, with new images and annotated x-rays to support the text. Split into sections based on clinical areas, vital knowledge is distilled into bullets and summary boxes for quick and easy reference. **Limited to three users at one time.**
Procedure Resources
Diagnosis & Treatment Planning
Atlas of Operative Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by ISBN: 9781119683957Publication Date: 2023This atlas is comprised of concise text and detailed vignettes focusing on surgical indications, contraindications, pertinent anatomy, virtual surgical planning, operative techniques, postoperative management, complications and key points with over 2,000 high-quality images.
Atlas of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by ISBN: 9780323789639Publication Date: 2023-05-19Offers detailed, step-by-step instructions and more than 2,500 full-color illustrations that demonstrate how to plan for and perform oral and maxillofacial surgical procedures safely and efficiently.
Craniofacial 3D Imaging by ISBN: 9783030007218Publication Date: 2019-02-08This book is designed to serve as an up-to-date reference on the use of cone-beam computed tomography for the purpose of 3D imaging of the craniofacial complex. The focus is in particular on the ways in which craniofacial 3D imaging changes how we think about conventional diagnosis and treatment planning and on its clinical applications within orthodontics and oral and maxillofacial surgery. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Shear's Cysts of the Oral and Maxillofacial Regions by ISBN: 9781119354963Publication Date: 2022-04-22Cysts of the Oral and Maxillofacial Regions The new Fifth Edition of Shear's Cysts of the Oral and Maxillofacial Regions delivers a comprehensive treatise on cysts that arise in the oral and maxillofacial tissues. It is the gold-standard on oral and maxillofacial cysts for professionals working in head and neck pathology, oral medicine, head and neck surgery, and radiology.
Surgical Procedures
Oxford Textbook of Anaesthesia for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Second Edition by ISBN: 9780198790723Publication Date: 2023-02-02Providing safe, effective anaesthesia for patients undergoing oral and maxillofacial surgery presents unique challenges involving a wide range of complex procedures, treatments, and interventions to manage an array of pathologies. This textbook is a practical, easy to read and engaging guide to the entire perioperative management process, encompassing everything that the practitioner needs to know. It utilises a clear, step-by-step approach to managing all aspects of anaesthesia for oral and maxillofacial surgery, from routine elective procedures to emergencies, difficult airways, cancer, and pain. **Limited to three users at one time.**
Office-Based Maxillofacial Surgical Procedures by ISBN: 9783030223700Publication Date: 2019-11-07This book is a comprehensive, step-by-step guide to maxillofacial surgical procedures typically performed in an office setting. It comprises three sections, the first of which provides an overview of general and basic perioperative topics such as medical and facial assessment, laboratory indications, local anesthesia, and oral and parenteral sedation. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Craniomaxillofacial Reconstructive and Corrective Bone Surgery by ISBN: 9781493915293Publication Date: 2019-01-06This in-depth revision of the successful first edition is one of the only books of its kind to cover the full range of craniomaxillofacial reconstructive and corrective bone surgery. This evolving field has a large number of contributions by worldwide clinicians covering new developments, especially in biomaterials, digital technologies, virtual surgical planning, patient specific implants, and navigation. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Orthognathic Surgery by ISBN: 9781455750276Publication Date: 2013-01-01Capturing the latest thinking for the evaluation and treatment of dentofacial deformities, Orthognathic Surgery: Principles and Practice, covers the basic principles and concepts of dentofacial deformities along with planning, surgical techniques, surgical complications, classic patterns, and clinical presentations.
Orthognathic Surgery by ISBN: 9781119004370Publication Date: 2017Orthognathic Surgery: Principles, Planning and Practice is a definitive clinical guide to orthognathic surgery, from initial diagnosis and treatment planning to surgical management and postoperative care. Addresses the major craniofacial anomalies and complex conditions of the jaw and face that require surgery.
Complications & Challenges
Management of Complications in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by ISBN: 9781119710714Publication Date: 2022-02-18Presents clear and consistent guidance on all aspects of both common and less common, minor and major complications encountered in oral and maxillofacial surgery (OMS) practice. In-depth chapters provide thorough descriptions of each complication and recommend treatment strategies for associated complications of anesthesia, implant surgery, maxillofacial trauma, and more, using easy to read algorithms.
Challenging Concepts in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by ISBN: 9780199653553Publication Date: 2016-04-11Challenging Concepts in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery details over 25 challenging and complex scenarios matched to the OMFS syllabus including frontal sinus fractures, reconstructive challenges following blast injuries to the facial soft tissue and skeleton, and reratocystic odontogenic tumours. **Limited to three users at one time.**
Complications in Cranio-Maxillofacial and Oral Surgery by ISBN: 9783030401498Publication Date: 2020-08-01This superbly illustrated book equips readers with a detailed, up-to-date understanding of the surgical and nonsurgical complications that may arise during cranio-maxillofacial and oral surgery for a range of conditions, including malformations, infections, trauma, and tumors. It will aid both in the prevention of complications and in their effective management, across all age groups. Among the diverse surgical settings considered are cleft lip and palate, odontogenic and non-odontogenic infections, temporomandibular joint disorders, cranio-maxillofacial trauma, oral cancer, and skull base tumors. Potential complications during and after reconstructive procedures, including donor site morbidity, are considered. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Guidelines & Policy Statements
- AAOMS Guidelines & Position StatementsReports or guidelines issued by the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS) expressing the association's position on various issues.
- AAOMS Clinical ResourcesAAOMS collection of clinical resources and condition statements. These clinical papers summarize procedures to be followed and information to be considered in the treatment of patients presenting for oral and maxillofacial surgery. The series of Clinical Condition Statements summarize the indications to care of various procedures and conditions as published in the AAOMS Parameters of Care.
Stay Current: Newly Published Oral Surgery Guidelines & Position Statements
Loading ...
Oral Surgery Journals
Study Aids & Board Review
- American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (ABOMS)Website for the ABOMS certification information.
SBAs for the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery FRCS by ISBN: 9780192864659Publication Date: 2022-12-19SBAs for the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery FRCS is a question and answer style revision guide designed to help candidates prepare for the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (FRCS) Section 1 written exam, and the Tri-Collegiate Membership in Oral Surgery (MOral Surg) exam. **Limited to three users at one time.**
- Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Residency ProgramWebsite for the UNC Hospitals and the Adams School of Dentistry residency program in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.
Professional Organizations
- American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial SurgeonsWebsite for the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons.
- American Dental AssocationAmerican Dental Association website.
- American Dental Education Association (ADEA)Website for the American Dental Education Association. Membership is free to all students, faculty, and staff affiliated with an ADEA member institution.
- American Society of Maxillofacial SurgeonsWebsite for the American Society of Maxillofacial Surgeons.
- North Carolina Dental SocietyWebsite for the North Carolina Dental Society.