Dentistry: Troubleshoot issues

For most issues accessing library resources, the problem can be resolved by clearing browser data and/or trying a different browser. Issues may look different. Some may have error codes or warnings; others may present as webpages that just won't load or time out.

Most errors can be resolved by following these instructions:

1. Close browser tabs.
2. Clear browser data.
   • Clear cache and browsing history from your browser. This removes previous or outdated authentication and session information. Use keyboard shortcut [Ctrl] + [Shift] + [Delete] to clear web browser history and cache with Chrome, Edge, and Firefox.
     • Instructions on clearing Safari browser data can be found at https://support.apple.com/en-us/105082

3. Try a different browser or one in incognito mode.
   • If still experiencing issues, try a different browser and see if the issue reoccurs. If using Google Chrome, try using Firefox next. Internet Explorer experiences issues most, so we recommend using Chrome or Firefox as a primary browser.

If you're having trouble accessing library resources, see if the issue is due to one of these common reasons.

1. Are you a current UNC student, faculty, or staff member?
   • Access to electronic resources is limited to current UNC students, faculty or staff with an active ONYEN and password. If you are not a current UNC affiliate, you may visit the Health Sciences Library in-person and use one of our public computers which will allow access to most electronic resources. Visit the front desk for more information and to obtain an access code to use one of our public computers. Additionally, guests are able to purchase, and in some instances able to obtain at no cost, a Borrower's Card to borrow print materials. Our Borrower's Card policy can be viewed at https://library.unc.edu/policies/borrowers-cards/.
2. Are you accessing the resources from the library website?
   • Make sure to access all resources from the library website first, even for publicly available resources like PubMed. The library website uses special software to communicate access with subscription-based resources. Additionally, some resources may not work if you've created a bookmark to save them directly to your browser if URLs or links have changed.
   • If you are sharing or saving links to library resources, look for a "permalink" or use ones from the library catalog. Permalinks are available directly in some resources but not others. More information on permalinks can be found at at https://library.unc.edu/borrow/course-reserves/link-builder/ or by contacting your librarian.
3. Are you on- or off-campus?
   • On-campus: 
     • Make sure you are connected to Wi-Fi. Current UNC affiliates should connect to the Eduroam network.
   • Off-campus:
     • Make sure to access materials from the library website and authenticate access with your ONYEN and password. Most resources will not be accessible by non-affiliates off-campus.
4. Are you receiving time-out errors or pages that will not load?
   • Clear cache and browsing history from your browser. This removes previous or outdated authentication and session information.
   • This keyboard shortcut is an easy way to clear web browser history and cache with Chrome, Edge, Firefox, and Opera:
     [Ctrl] + [Shift] + [Delete]
     • ​​​​​​​Instructions on clearing Safari browser data can be found at https://support.apple.com/en-us/105082
     • More information on clearing browser data can be found at https://ccinfo.unc.edu/2017/06/guide-clearing-browser-cookiescache/.
5. Try a different browser or one in incognito mode.
   • Try a different browser and see if the issue reoccurs. If using Google Chrome, try using Firefox next. Internet Explorer experiences issues most, so we recommend using Chrome or Firefox as a primary browser.

Open Athens and Shibboleth are examples of software that enable single sign-on access to resources. You may see buttons to sign-in using Open Athens or Shibboleth when attempting to access journal articles or eBooks. This is also called "institution access" or may use a "sign in via your institution" prompt.  At this time, UNC does not provide single sign-on access using software like Open Athens or Shibboleth.

Use this method to access or request items instead:

1. Search for the item.
   • Articles: Use PubMed or Google Scholar to search by title. Or use the eJournal portal to search by journal name, volume, and issue.
   • eBooks: Use the library catalog.
2. Access the full-text.
   • Articles: Use the blue "Find @ UNC" button if accessing via PubMed, Google Scholar, or other database. If using the eJournal portal, access the journal via the HSL website, then search for the article using citation information like date published, volume, and issue.
   • eBooks: Click blue "Full-text available via UNC Libraries" button.

This error message can appear in a variety of library resources.

Troubleshooting Instructions:

1. Close browser tabs.
2. Open a new browser tab and clear cache and browsing history. The keyboard shortcut [Ctrl] + [Shift] + [Delete] should work in most browsers.
   • Instructions on clearing Safari browser data can be found at https://support.apple.com/en-us/105082
3. Try accessing the resource again. If error message occurs again, try a different browser or one in incognito mode. If issue continues, submit a ticket at https://asklib.hsl.unc.edu/.

While many eBooks allow unlimited user access at one time, some are restricted to a certain number of users at one time (usually 1 or 3). When attempting to access an eBook, you may receive an error message that says "Sorry, this eBook i sin use. Please try again later." This means the limit has been reached for simultaneous users. Try accessing the book later to see if the issue resolves. If this is a repeated issue and the book is not required for a course, let us know by contacting https://asklib.hsl.unc.edu/.

Occasionally, items are included in our collections, but you may be unable to access the full-text or be prompted to pay. There are a few ways you can attempt to resolve this issue, but often, this is a result of an error in our system. Typically, we are unaware of these issues and they can only be resolved when you report them. Last, never pay to access articles or books, even if they are not included in our collections. We can obtain them at no cost to you via our Interlibrary Loan service (limited to current UNC students, faculty, and staff). 

If the blue "full text online" button redirects to a page without full-text access or is prompting you to pay for access:

1. If applicable, try another access option. These will be underneath the blue, full-text online button and may be in a dropdown menu.
2. If there are no other access options, or if they are replicating the same issue, then let us know by clicking the "report a problem" link.