Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Dentistry: Anatomy, Histology, & Embryology
Created by Health Science Librarians
Anatomy
Books
Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry, 3rd ed. by
A concise and visual guide to clinically relevant anatomy for dentistry, Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry is an effective text for class and exam preparation, as well as a quick review in professional practice. Concise text, high-yield tables, clinical correlations, and review questions combine to make this new edition a perfect choice for learning and remembering the need-to-know structures, relationships, and concepts, while beautiful illustrations created in the Netter tradition enhance your visual mastery of the material. You may also be interested in: A companion set of flash cards, Netter's Advanced Head & Neck Anatomy Flash Cards, 3rd Edition. Over 100 multiple-choice questions complete with explanations help you assess your knowledge of the material and prepare for exams. Identify clinically relevant anatomy with Netter illustrations and new art created in the Netter tradition. Concise text and high-yield tables offer fast access to important facts. Procedures coverage gives context and clinical meaning to the anatomy. Expanded, up-to-date coverage on dental implants, cone beam imaging, and mandible osteology. Beautiful new illustrations by Carlos Machado, MD, of the TMJ, articular disc pathology, infratemporal fossa, pterygopalatine fossa, and maxillary artery. Interactive eBook included with print purchase, which includes access to the full text, interactive images, case studies, additional assessment questions, video clips from cone beam CTs, and a rotatable 3D skull.
ISBN: 9780323392280Publication Date: 2016-11-09
Anatomy of Orofacial Structures [Print copy only] by Call Number: WU 101 B817a 2024ISBN: 9780323796996Publication Date: 2023-05-01Provides an all-in-one resource for learning oral histology and embryology, dental anatomy, and head and neck anatomy. Print copy in HSL reserve collection.
Software & Apps
- e-AnatomyThis anatomy reference & teaching tool displays labeled body parts using multiple imaging modalities (MRI, CT) in a sequential, slice by slice manner. Clinical cases are available.
The e-Anatomy mobile app can be downloaded from the Apple store or Google Play. - Anatomy.tvGeneral & regional anatomical modules including 3D views, clinical text, dissection slides and videos, MRI correlations, biomechanics animations, and self-quizzes; includes focii on Head & Neck, Dental, Spine, Hand & Shoulder, Knee, Abdomen & Thorax, Clinical & Surgical Anatomy, Sports Anatomy, Anatomy Trains for massage, Pelvic Floor, Chiropractic & Acupuncture, etc.
- BoneBox Dental Lite (for iPhone)"BoneBox™ - Dental Lite utilizes true real-time 3D so the user can place the highly realistic detailed dental anatomy in any position and zoom in to explore all of the anatomical structures. By using the interactive quizzing feature the user will be tested on their knowledge of the human dental anatomy."
- BoneBox Dental Pro (for iPad)"BoneBox™ - Dental Lite utilizes true real-time 3D so the user can place the highly realistic detailed dental anatomy in any position and zoom in to explore all of the anatomical structures. By using the interactive quizzing feature the user will be tested on their knowledge of the human dental anatomy."
Histology
An Illustrated Guide to Oral Histology by ISBN: 9781119669449Publication Date: 2021-05-17Delivers a collection of high-definition histological and pathological images, presenting both diseased and normal oral tissues. The book provides over 200 high-magnification histomicrographs of oral tissues, as well as definitions and explanations of key identifying histological and pathological features of oral tissues.
Embryology
The Developing Human: Clinically Oriented Embryology by ISBN: 9780323611541Publication Date: 2019-03-01Covers all aspects of normal and abnormal embryonic and fetal development. Provides an easy-to-digest, comprehensive review of what can be a complex and challenging subject.
Craniofacial Embryogenetics and Development, 2e by ISBN: 9781607950325Publication Date: 2010-05-01Provides clinicians with a basic background for treating craniofacial anomalies.
