Dentistry: General Dentistry
Created by Health Science Librarians
Suggestions & Feedback
Help improve this page by sharing your suggestions and feedback via email on topics including but not limited to:
- adding a resource to this page;
- fixing a broken link;
- perceptions of this page (usefulness as well as opportunities for improvement);
- and any other thoughts you'd like to share!
Dentistry Librarian
Emily Jones, MLIS, AHIP
she/her/hers
Contact:
epjones3@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564Overview
This page is specifically designed for Adams School of Dentistry students and clinicians seeking to enhance their knowledge, skills, and patient care in the field of general dentistry. This page is intended to be a valuable guide that connects library and publicly available resources to you to enhance education, research, and clinical practice.
Here you'll find:
- In-depth learning materials covering fundamental and advanced general dentistry concepts.
- Up-to-date treatment planning resources and clinical guidelines.
- General dentistry focused journals.
- Professional organizations and board certification information.
Explore this carefully curated content to deepen your understanding of general dentistry principles, refine your clinical techniques, and stay informed about cutting-edge research in the field.
Core Resources
Burt and Eklund's Dentistry, Dental Practice, and the Community by ISBN: 9780323554848Publication Date: 2020-06-09Learn about the challenges, current trends, and the positive role that you can play in improving the dental health of the community.
Readers will learn the latest techniques of research and measurement, and how oral disease may be limited through control and prevention.
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 10th ed. by ISBN: 9780323809450Publication Date: 2023-05-01Provides information needed to assess common problems and make safe dental management decisions. Each chapter features informative illustrations and well-organized tables to provide you with in-depth details and overall summaries required for understanding and applying medical concepts in dentistry.
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry by ISBN: 9780198832171Publication Date: 2020-11-01The indispensable guide to the dental world for dental students, trainees, practitioners, and nurses. The Handbook has been completely updated and brings you a wealth of information to keep pace with fast-moving areas of dental practice. **Limited to 3 users at one time.**
More Resources
Diagnosis & Treatment Planning
Physical Evaluation and Treatment Planning in Dental Practice by ISBN: 9781118646588Publication Date: 2021-09-15The revised Second Edition of Physical Evaluation and Treatment Planning in Dental Practice has been expanded to include information pertinent when considering comprehensive treatment planning for a wide variety of dental procedures. Readers will learn about diagnosis and planning considerations for orofacial pain, caries, periodontics, oral surgery, endodontics, restorative, prosthodontics and esthetic dentistry, and more.
Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 4th ed. by
Enhance your skills in patient assessment, oral diagnosis, and treatment planning! A full-color, all-in-one reference, Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 4th Edition helps you create person-centered dental treatment plans for adolescent and adult patients. Using evidence-based research, this text shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process. Detailed coverage guides you through each phase of the treatment plan. New to this edition are chapters covering digital tools used in treatment planning and revised content in all chapters. The book renews a core section that describes how to plan and provide optimal oral health care for unique patient populations. Written by noted dentistry educators Stephen Stefanac and Samuel Nesbit, this must-have resource includes a fully searchable eBook version free with each print purchase. Clear, logical organization builds your understanding with sections on comprehensive patient evaluation, the treatment planning process, the five phases of the treatment plan, and care planning for all patients. What's the Evidence? boxes cite research articles affecting clinical decision-making and treatment planning strategies. In Clinical Practice boxes summarize information on specific clinical situations for quick and easy review. Ethics in Dentistry boxes address clinical situations where ethical decision making may be required. Review questions summarize and reinforce the important concepts in each chapter. 350 full-color illustrations depict important concepts. NEW! Updated content in all chapters. NEW! An eBook version is included with print purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Plus, additional videos and all-new case-based practice quizzes for each chapter. NEW! Digital Tools chapter focuses on the use of digital tools in diagnosis and treatment planning.
ISBN: 9780323809757Publication Date: 2023-04-03
Phillips' Science of Dental Materials, 13th ed. by ISBN: 9780323697552Publication Date: 2021-07-22Provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on the materials used in cosmetic and restorative procedures in dentistry. It introduces the physical and chemical properties that are related to selection and use of dental biomaterials, including their composition, mechanical properties, manipulative variables, and the performance of dental restorations and prostheses.
Clinical Guide to Oral Diseases by ISBN: 9781119328124Publication Date: 2021-01-09A quick reference and revision guide on the most common oral and perioral diseases seen in clinical practice Clinical Guide to Oral Diseases is a concise reference on the common diseases encountered in daily practice. Presenting a large selection of clinical cases, this user-friendly resource covers a range of oral and perioral lesions located in hard and soft tissues of the mouth and neck, as well as oral manifestations of various systemic diseases.
Caries Management
Essentials of Dental Caries by ISBN: 9780198738268Publication Date: 2016-07-26Provides readers with an up-to-date, clinically relevant guide to dental caries. Explains the biological and socioeconomic background of lesion development and progress.
Dental Caries: The Disease and its Clinical Management, 2nd ed. by ISBN: 9781444309287Publication Date: 2009-03-16The centrality of caries control and management to the dental health of all populations is further emphasized, as the book goes beyond the successful treatment of carious lesions to demonstrate the long-term consequences of the non-operative and therapeutic techniques employed.
Understanding Dental Caries by ISBN: 9783319305509Publication Date: 2016-06-29This book thoroughly explains the biological background of dental caries and the formation of carious lesions, providing the reader with a sound basis for understanding the role and effectiveness of different therapeutic and preventive measures. Detailed information is presented on pathogenesis, ultrastructure, and diagnosis.
Procedures
Basic Guide to Dental Procedures by ISBN: 9781118924556Publication Date: 2015-07-20Provides an essential introduction to the core preventative and restorative treatments routinely carried out in the modern dental practice. Written as a guide for the whole dental team, 'before and after' color photographs enable the reader to understand and explain the procedures to their patient with confidence.
Practical Procedures in the Management of Tooth Wear by ISBN: 9781119389927Publication Date: 2019-12-11Practical Procedures in the Management of Tooth Wear demonstrates a wide range of up to date clinical techniques in the practical management of tooth wear.
Medical Conditions & Emergencies
The ADA Practical Guide to Patients with Medical Conditions by ISBN: 9781118929285Publication Date: 2015-08-13This evidence-based guide takes a patient-focused approach to help you deliver safe, coordinated oral health care for patients with medical conditions. Contains disease descriptions, pathogenesis, coordination of care between the dentist and physician, and key questions to ask the patient and physician.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by ISBN: 9781684470051Publication Date: 2019-01-02Step-by-step instructions to aid in identifying and managing common medical emergencies, such as: Fainting, Asthma attacks, Allergic reactions, seizures, diabetic events, high and low blood pressure, strokes, and cardiac arrest.
Guidelines & Policy Statements
- Clinical Practice Guidelines and Dental Evidence (ADA)
Collection of guidelines and evidence-based dentistry resources from the ADA.
Stay Current: Newly Published Guidelines & Policy Statements
Loading ...
Study Aids & Board Review
- American Board of General Dentistry (ABGD) Study AidsStudy aids from the American Board of General Dentistry.
- Adams School of Dentistry General Practice Residency ProgramWebsite for the Adams School of Dentistry General Practice Residency Program.
Professional Organizations
- Academy of General DentistryWebsite for the Academy of General Dentistry.
- American Dental AssocationAmerican Dental Association website.
- North Carolina Dental SocietyWebsite for the North Carolina Dental Society.