Dentistry: Pediatric Dentistry
Created by Health Science Librarians
Suggestions & Feedback
Help improve this page by sharing your suggestions and feedback via email on topics including but not limited to:
- adding a resource to this page;
- fixing a broken link;
- perceptions of this page (usefulness as well as opportunities for improvement);
- and any other thoughts you'd like to share!
Dentistry Librarian
Emily Jones, MLIS, AHIP
she/her/hers
Contact:
epjones3@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564Overview
Discover a comprehensive collection of library resources tailored for pediatric dentistry. The intention of this page is to connect you to library and publicly available resources for pediatric dentistry and includes:
- Comprehensive resources covering fundamental and advanced pediatric dentistry concepts,
- Evidence-based clinical guidelines,
- Pediatric dentistry-focused journals and professional organizations.
Whether you're looking to enhance your clinical skills or stay updated on the latest advancements this webpage is your go-to source for pediatric dentistry information at UNC.
We invite you to delve into our resources and hope they deepen your understanding of pediatric dentistry.
Core Resources
Handbook of Clinical Techniques in Pediatric Dentistry by ISBN: 9781119661085Publication Date: 2021-07-16The book is an easy-to-read guide to clinical pediatric dentistry with practical evidence-based information for dental students, assistants, hygienists, residents in both general dentistry and specialty training, and general and pediatric dentists.
Pediatric Dentistry by ISBN: 9780323608268Publication Date: 2018-07-18Provides comprehensive coverage of oral care for infants, children, teenagers, and medically compromised pediatric patients. Organized by age group, the text covers examination, diagnosis, and treatment planning, as well as topics such as the prevention of dental disease, traumatic injuries, orthodontics, and restorative dentistry. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Pediatric Dentistry: a Clinical Approach, 3e by ISBN: 9781118913499Publication Date: 2017-01-04Provides a uniquely clear, comprehensive, and clinical approach to the dental treatment of children and adolescents. Offers systematic coverage of all clinical, scientific and social topics relating to pediatric dentistry with an increased focus on evidence based care Includes three new chapters on genetics, child abuse and neglected children, and ethics.
McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent, 11e by ISBN: 9780323698207Publication Date: 2021-04-01Provides the latest diagnostic and treatment recommendations for infants, children, and adolescents. It covers topics ranging from pediatric examination and radiographic techniques to development and morphology of the primary teeth, dental caries, dental materials, and local anesthesia.
Early Childhood Oral Health by ISBN: 9781118925188Publication Date: 2015-08-06Coalesces all the important information related to this topic in a comprehensive reference for students, academics, and practitioners. This second edition expands the scope of the first and puts an additional focus on interprofessional and global efforts that are necessary to manage the growing disease crisis and screening and risk assessment efforts that have expanded with the boom of new technologies. Incorporates the latest research and addresses the biology and epidemiology of caries, the clinical management of early childhood caries, risk assessment, and early diagnosis.
Procedure Resources
Pediatric Endodontics & Restorative Dentistry
Contemporary Endodontics for Children and Adolescents by ISBN: 9783031239793Publication Date: 2023-03-23This book equips dental practitioners with all the information required in order to ensure successful endodontic treatment of children and adolescents.
Pediatric Restorative Dentistry by ISBN: 9783319934259Publication Date: 2018-09-24This book describes and discusses the different restorative options for managing carious lesions in children with primary and mixed dentition. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Dentofacial Orthopedics in the Growing Child by ISBN: 9781119720218Publication Date: 2022-07-08A clinical guide to understanding why malocclusions occur in children and how to diagnose and correct them early to reestablish normal growth using dentofacial orthopedics. Provides step-by-step guidance on diagnosing and treating malocclusions in young patients.
Pediatric Dental Anomalies
Anomalies of the Developing Dentition by ISBN: 9783030031633Publication Date: 2019-01-30This book is an up-to-date, succinct, and easily accessible reference on the diverse anomalies that may arise in the developing dentition, including those relating to crown size and shape, tooth formation, tooth eruption, tooth number, and enamel and dentin formation. **Limited to one user at at time.**
Atlas of Pediatric Oral and Dental Developmental Anomalies by ISBN: 9781119380863Publication Date: 2018-11-26A quick reference diagnostic guide for students and clinicians, covering a wide range of oral and dental developmental anomalies in children and adolescents.
Pediatric Emergencies & Complications
Management of Dental Emergencies in Children and Adolescents by ISBN: 9781119372660Publication Date: 2019-07-03This authoritative manual helps dental practitioners manage potentially stressful situations with children and adolescents while improving their competence in a wide range of urgent pediatric situations. An emphasis on managing the therapeutic demands of both younger patients and their parents enables readers to have greater confidence in handling demanding emergency situations in daily practice.
Wright's Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children by ISBN: 9781119680840Publication Date: 2021-10-19Guiding patient behavior is as important as ever for the practicing dentist, and the behavior of pediatric patients is perhaps the most challenging to manage, especially in today's modern society characterized by its diversity and unlimited access to information. Delivers an up-to-date discussion of modern techniques for managing the behavior of pediatric dental patients.
Guidelines & Policy Statements
- Oral Health Policies & Recommendations (The Reference Manual of Pediatric Dentistry)Guidelines and policies from the American Academy of Pediatric Dentists (AAPD).
Stay Current: Newly Published Pediatric Dentistry Guidelines & Policy Statements
Loading ...
Study Aids & Board Review
- American Board of Pediatric DentistryWebsite for the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry.
- ABPD Board Certification GuideDownload the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry certification guide.
- Adams School of Dentistry Graduate Program in Pediatric DentistryWebsite for the Adams School of Dentistry Graduate Program in Pediatric Dentistry.
- Board Study TipsStudy tips from the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry.
Professional Organizations
- North Carolina Dental SocietyWebsite for the North Carolina Dental Society.
- American Dental AssocationAmerican Dental Association website.
- American Dental Education Association (ADEA)Website for the American Dental Education Association. Membership is free to all students, faculty, and staff affiliated with an ADEA member institution.
- American Academy of Pediatric Dentists (AAPD)Website for the AAPD.
- North Carolina Academy of Pediatric DentistryWebsite for the North Carolina Academy of Pediatric Dentistry.
- Southeastern Society of Pediatric DentistryWebsite for the Southeastern Society of Pediatric Dentistry.