Dentistry: Orthodontics
Created by Health Science Librarians
Suggestions & Feedback
Help improve this page by sharing your suggestions and feedback via email on topics including but not limited to:
- adding a resource to this page;
- fixing a broken link;
- perceptions of this page (usefulness as well as opportunities for improvement);
- and any other thoughts you'd like to share!
Dentistry Librarian
Emily Jones, MLIS, AHIP
she/her/hers
Contact:
epjones3@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564Overview
This webpage is specifically designed for Adams School of Dentistry students and clinicians seeking to expand their knowledge and expertise in orthodontic treatment. The goal of this webpage is to connect library and publicly available resources to you in order to enhance your educational journey, research endeavors, and clinical practice.
Here you'll discover:
- In-depth educational content covering both foundational and advanced orthodontic concepts.
- Current research findings and evidence-based clinical guidelines.
- Orthodontic focused journals.
- Professional organizations and board certification information.
Explore this carefully curated content to deepen your understanding of orthodontic principles. We invite you to delve into our resources and hope they prove invaluable in your pursuit of excellence in orthodontic care.
Core Resources
Integrated Clinical Orthodontics by ISBN: 9781119870081Publication Date: 2023-09-15Integrated Clinical Orthodontics offers an overview of clinical orthodontic theory and practice to equip clinicians to take an integrated approach to orthodontic practice. It presents the problems of orthodontics in an interdisciplinary context to describe how the potential complexity of dentofacial problems, the medical histories of patients, and a host of other factors contribute to orthodontic outcomes.
Orthodontics: Principles and Practice by ISBN: 9781444346091Publication Date: 2011-08-24This latest addition to the Dental Update books series provides a clear and thorough guide to contemporary orthodontic principles and practice. Written as a highly practical clinical manual, it covers patient assessment, diagnosis and treatment planning of both standard class malocclusions and specific entities such as impacted teeth, digit sucking habits and asymmetries, as well as appliance techniques, complex and multidisciplinary care, and retention.
Biological Mechanisms of Tooth Movement by ISBN: 9781118688878Publication Date: 2015-04-27Biological Mechanisms of Tooth Movement, Second Edition is an authoritative reference to the scientific foundations underpinning clinical orthodontics. Led by an expert editor team and with contributions from an international group of contributors, the book covers key topics including bone biology, the effects of mechanical loading on tissues and cells, genetics, inflammation, tissue remodeling and the effects of diet, drugs, and systemic diseases. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Procedure Resources
Diagnosis & Treatment Planning
Essentials of Orthodontics : diagnosis and treatment by ISBN: 9781118853719Publication Date: 2013-10-25Designed to help dental students, orthodontic residents, and general dentists understand the basic concepts and procedures essential to the diagnosis, treatment planning, and treatment of patients who have relatively simple malocclusion problems.
Craniofacial 3D Imaging: current concepts in orthodontics and oral and maxillofacial surgery by ISBN: 9783030007218Publication Date: 2019-02-08This book is designed to serve as an up-to-date reference on the use of cone-beam computed tomography for the purpose of 3D imaging of the craniofacial complex. The focus is in particular on the ways in which craniofacial 3D imaging changes how we think about conventional diagnosis and treatment planning and on its clinical applications within orthodontics and oral and maxillofacial surgery. **Limited to one user at a time.**
Atlas of Orthodontic Case Reviews by ISBN: 9781119303763Publication Date: 2017-06-29Atlas of Orthodontic Case Reviews offers a comprehensive resource to the treatment of orthodontic malocclusions with a case-based approach. Discusses and illustrates the treatment of orthodontic malocclusions using actual clinical cases.
Digital Planning and Custom Orthodontic Treatment by ISBN: 9781119087779Publication Date: 2017-04-24Covers 3D imaging of the dentition and the face with intraoral scanners, CBCT machines, and 3D facial scanners. Provides a complete guide to using digital treatment planning to improve the predictability, efficiency, and efficacy of orthodontic treatment.
Orthodontic Techniques & Procedures
Debonding and Fixed Retention in Orthodontics by ISBN: 9781119623977Publication Date: 2023-08-22Reviews the protocols, materials, and techniques required at two key stages of orthodontic treatment. The book includes relevant procedures including orthodontic appliance removal, appliance debonding, the use of rotating instruments, and enamel cleaning.
Aligner Techniques in Orthodontics by ISBN: 9781119607236Publication Date: 2021-04-08Aligner Techniques in Orthodontics is filled with the theoretical and practical clinical information on the popular aligner techniques with a focus on Invisalign. Written by practicing orthodontists and noted experts on the topic, the book is designed to help practitioners develop their skills in using aligners in orthodontics.
Temporary Anchorage Devices in Orthodontics by ISBN: 9780323609333Publication Date: 2020-01-09Temporary Anchorage Devices in Orthodontics, 2nd Edition covers everything you need to know to begin offering TADs in your practice. More than 1,500 full-color photos and illustrations guide you through the entire treatment process, from diagnosis and planning to biomechanics, implants and anchorage devices, and management of problems.
Orthodontic Treatment of Impacted Teeth by ISBN: 9781119565406Publication Date: 2022-01-07The new edition of the gold-standard clinical reference on addressing common, complex, and multifactorial clinical scenarios. Orthodontic Treatment of Impacted Teeth integrates the latest developments and scientific evidence to provide authoritative coverage of orthodontic diagnosis and treatment, radiographic methods, surgical access, treatment strategies, and more.
Cleft and Craniofacial Orthodontics by ISBN: 9781119778387Publication Date: 2022-12-19Cleft and Craniofacial Orthodontics Comprehensive reference work for managing patients with orofacial clefts and complex craniofacial conditions from birth to skeletal maturity Cleft and Craniofacial Orthodontics is a comprehensive and detailed reference work on the management of patients with orofacial clefts and complex craniofacial conditions.
Guidelines & Policy Statements
- Clinical Practice Guidelines (AAO)The American Association of Orthodontists provides Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPG) as a complete overview of the orthodontic clinical process from diagnosis to completion of treatment. These guidelines were derived from a professional consensus, based on a review of relevant clinical and scientific literature, the expert opinion of educators, and the clinical experience of practicing orthodontists. Access to these resources requires AAO membership.
Stay Current: Newly Published Guidelines
Loading ...
Orthodontic Journals
A list of selected orthodontic journals can be found below. This is not a comprehensive listing of all orthodontic journals.
- Journal of Clinical OrthodonticsUNC does not have a current subscription, but UNC affiliates may place Interlibrary Loan requests for articles published within this journal at no cost.
Looking for another journal? Search the Libraries' e-Journal portal by title or ISSN. All electronic journals that we subscribe to will be listed here. If you're looking for an article in a journal we do not have access to, then use our Interlibrary Loan Services to request a PDF copy at no cost to you (UNC affiliates only). View these step-by-step instructions on using Interlibrary Loan for more information.
Study Aids & Board Review
- American Board of OrthodonticsInformation on board certification.
- Board Study AidsResources and support for board preparation from the American Board of Orthodontics.
- Adams School of Dentistry Graduate Program in OrthodonticsWebsite for the Adams School of Dentistry Graduate Program in Orthodontics.
- Scenario-Based Clinical Examination Study GuidesStudy guide created by the American Board of Orthodontics.
Professional Organizations
- American Association of OrthodontistsWebsite for the American Association of Orthodontists.
- North Carolina Dental SocietyWebsite for the North Carolina Dental Society.
- American Dental AssocationAmerican Dental Association website.
- American Dental Education Association (ADEA)Website for the American Dental Education Association. Membership is free to all students, faculty, and staff affiliated with an ADEA member institution.