Dentistry: Periodontology
Created by Health Science Librarians
Suggestions & Feedback
Help improve this page by sharing your suggestions and feedback via email on topics including but not limited to:
- adding a resource to this page;
- fixing a broken link;
- perceptions of this page (usefulness as well as opportunities for improvement);
- and any other thoughts you'd like to share!
Dentistry Librarian
Emily Jones, MLIS, AHIP
she/her/hers
Contact:
epjones3@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564
(919) 966-0963
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
*Please note, I have a hybrid work schedule and the days I work on-campus vary each week. Please email for my next on-campus availability, or schedule a virtual meeting directly on my calendar any time by clicking the button above.
orcid.org/0000-0002-4294-7564Overview
This page is specifically designed for Adams School of Dentistry students and clinicians seeking to enhance their knowledge, skills, and patient care in the field of periodontics. This page is intended to be a valuable guide that connects library and publicly available resources to you in order to enhance your educational journey, research endeavors, and clinical practice.
Here you'll find:
- In-depth learning materials covering fundamental and advanced periodontic concepts.
- Up-to-date treatment planning resources and clinical guidelines.
- Periodontic focused journals.
- Professional organizations and board certification information.
Explore this carefully curated content to deepen your understanding of periodontic principles. We invite you to delve into our resources and hope they prove invaluable in your pursuit of excellence in periodontal care.
Core Resources
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 10e by ISBN: 9780323809450Publication Date: 2023-05-01Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient provides the information needed to assess common problems and make safe dental management decisions. Each chapter features informative illustrations and well-organized tables to provide you with in-depth details and overall summaries required for understanding and applying medical concepts in dentistry.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by ISBN: 9781684470051Publication Date: 2019-01-02Step-by-step instructions to aid in identifying and managing common medical emergencies, such as: Fainting, Asthma attacks, Allergic reactions, seizures, diabetic events, high and low blood pressure, strokes, and cardiac arrest.
Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, 5e by ISBN: 9780323789813Publication Date: 2024Guides you through the wide variety of diseases that may affect the oral and maxillofacial region. More than 1,500 radiographs and full-color clinical photos bring various lesions and conditions to life.
Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology and Implantology, 14e by ISBN: 9780323878876Publication Date: 2024Unmatched for its comprehensive approach, this resource provides detailed, up-to-date information on the etiology and pathogenesis of periodontal disease.
Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology, 13th ed. by ISBN: 9780323523004Publication Date: 2018-07-17From basic science and fundamental procedures to the latest advanced techniques in reconstructive, esthetic, and implant therapy, Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology, 13th Edition is the resource you can count on to help master the most current information and techniques in periodontology. **Limited to 3 users at one time.**
Lindhe's Clinical Periodontology and Implant Dentistry by ISBN: 9781119438946Publication Date: 2021-07-28Discover the latest edition of the cornerstone reference on periodontology and implant dentistry that combines scholarship and science with practical clinical instruction.
Procedure Resources
Diagnosis & Treatment Planning
Hall's Critical Decisions in Periodontology and Dental Implantology by ISBN: 9781607950462Publication Date: 2013-02-01Hall's Critical Decisions in Periodontology, Fifth Edition, is designed to guide students and practitioners in applying their decision-making knowledge in a structured and logical manner whether in diagnosis, treatment selections and options, procedures in various treatments, or evaluating outcomes.
Diagnosis and Treatment of Furcation-Involved Teeth by ISBN: 9781119270669Publication Date: 2018-05-29Provides a practical manual for the successful diagnosis and treatment of a therapeutic challenge for general dentists and periodontists.
Practical Techniques in Periodontics and Implant Dentistry by ISBN: 9781119793564Publication Date: 2022-10-18A quick reference to essential techniques in periodontics and implant dentistry designed for clinical use. This manual is precise, offers quick access to the fundamentals of each of the pertinent topics in the field, and provides practitioners the ability to refer to an authoritative and straightforward resource in their daily clinical practice. It includes radiographs, histological images, clinical photographs, and line drawings.
Ultrasonic Periodontal Debridement by ISBN: 9781119421429Publication Date: 2017-05-12Ultrasonic Periodontal Debridement: Theory and Technique provides a comprehensive resource for dental students, dental hygiene and therapy students, and periodontal residents, as well as practicing dental hygienists and dentists who are looking to increase their familiarity and skills with ultrasonic instrumentation.
Practical Periodontal Diagnosis and Treatment Planning by ISBN: 9781119830344Publication Date: 2023-11-14Understand periodontal diseases and their treatment with this practical guide Practical Periodontal Diagnosis and Treatment Planning, Second Edition provides a fully up-to-date guide to the latest techniques, both surgical and non-invasive, for minimizing the impact of periodontal conditions.
Clinical Cases in Periodontics by ISBN: 9781119583967Publication Date: 2022-01-07The newly revised Second Edition of Clinical Cases in Periodontics delivers a comprehensive collection of clinical cases on critical topics within the discipline of periodontology. The book is thoroughly updated to incorporate recent developments in the field, along with new classifications of periodontal disease, common diagnoses, and a wide range of treatment options.
Dental Implantology
Misch's Contemporary Implant Dentistry by ISBN: 9780323391559Publication Date: 2020-02-13Uses a multidisciplinary approach to cover the industry's most current processes and surgical procedures. The new edition of this text continues to provide comprehensive, state-of-the-art information on the science and discipline of contemporary implant dentistry. **Limited to one user at a time.**
The ADA Practical Guide to Dental Implants by ISBN: 9781119630678Publication Date: 2021-05-28Taking a clear and concise approach to the subject, the book offers basic information on all aspects of dental implants.
Practical Procedures in Implant Dentistry by ISBN: 9781119399186Publication Date: 2021-07-16Practical Procedures in Implant Dentistry delivers a comprehensive collection of information demonstrating the science and clinical techniques in implant dentistry.
The SAC Classification in Implant Dentistry by ISBN: 9781786981103Publication Date: 2022The SAC Classification provides an evidence-based, objective framework for the assessment of the potential difficulty, complexity, and risk of an implant-related treatment for a given clinical situation and serves as a guide for clinicians in both patient selection and treatment planning.
Implant Restorations by ISBN: 9781119538158Publication Date: 2019-12-09Focusing on the most common treatment scenarios, it offers concise literature reviews for each chapter and easy-to-follow descriptions of the techniques, along with high-quality clinical photographs demonstrating each step. **Limited to one user at at time.**
Decision Making in Dental Implantology by ISBN: 9781119225959Publication Date: 2017-10-17Decision Making in Dental Implantology: Atlas of Surgical and Restorative Approaches offers an image-based resource to both the surgical and restorative aspects of implant therapy, presenting more than 2,000 color images with an innovative case-by-case approach.
Clinical Cases in Implant Dentistry by ISBN: 9781119312703Publication Date: 2016-11-26Clinical Cases in Implant Dentistry presents 49 actual clinical cases, accompanied by academic commentary, that question and educate the reader about essential topics in implant dentistry, encompassing diagnosis, surgical site preparation and placement, restoration, and maintenance of dental implants.
Alveolar Ridge Augmentation
Essential Techniques of Alveolar Bone Augmentation in Implant Dentistry by ISBN: 9781119827351Publication Date: 2022-09-02A clinically focused manual of the most important surgical techniques in alveolar bone augmentation, providing key information for managing cases in implant dentistry.
Dental Implants and Bone Grafts by ISBN: 9780081024782Publication Date: 2019-08-30Dental Implants and Bone Grafts: Materials and Biological Issues brings together cutting-edge research to provide detailed coverage of biomaterials for dental implants and bone graft, enabling scientists and clinicians to gain a thorough knowledge of advances and applications in this field.
Bone Tissue Engineering by ISBN: 9783030920135Publication Date: 2022-03-08This book provides a comprehensive overview of the state-of-the-art research as well as current challenges and strategies to reconstruct large bone defects employing 3D printing technology.
Periodontal Surgery
Practical Advanced Periodontal Surgery by ISBN: 9781119196358Publication Date: 2020-06-02A step-by-step guide to cutting-edge surgical techniques and interdisciplinary treatment approaches in periodontology. Procedures are described in a practical and accessible style, highlighting complex and advanced procedures using a highly illustrated visual format.
Practical Periodontal Plastic Surgery by ISBN: 9781118985502Publication Date: 2017-02-06Practical Periodontal Plastic Surgery provides an essential guide to the clinical requirements and step-by-step procedures of periodontal plastic surgery.
Atlas of Implant Dentistry and Tooth-Preserving Surgery by ISBN: 9783319421223Publication Date: 2017-04-13This atlas is unique in comparing the two disciplines of dental implant surgery and tooth-preserving surgery with respect to common procedures, problems, and failures and in providing excellent guidance on the prevention and management of complications.
Minimally Invasive Dental Implant Surgery by ISBN: 9781119421405Publication Date: 2017-05-13Minimally Invasive Dental Implant Surgery presents a new clinical text and atlas focused on cutting edge and rapidly developing, minimally invasive treatment modalities and their applications to implant dentistry.
Guidelines & Policy Statements
- AAP Best Evidence ConsensusCollection of best evidence consensus papers from the American Academy of Periodontology.
- Nonsurgical Treatment of Chronic Periodontitis Clinical Practice Guideline (ADA)The ADA's practice guideline on nonsurgical treatment of chronic periodontitis published in 2015.
American Academy of Periodontology Guidelines
Loading ...
Stay Current: Newly Published Guidelines & Policy Statements
Loading ...
Periodontic Journals
A list of selected periodontal-focused journals can be found below. This is not a comprehensive listing of all periodontic journals.
Looking for another journal? Search the Libraries' e-Journal portal by title or ISSN. All electronic journals that we subscribe to will be listed here. If you're looking for an article in a journal we do not have access to, then use our Interlibrary Loan Services to request a PDF copy at no cost to you (UNC affiliates only). View these step-by-step instructions on using Interlibrary Loan for more information.
Study Aids & Board Review
- AAP Education AccessAAP’s Education Committee and a subgroup of volunteers have developed educational modules: high-quality periodontal educational content that can be integrated into a program curriculum or used as a study club.
- AAP In-Service Exam Study AidsIncludes In-Service Exam practice questions and answers, AAP position statements, glossary, and more.
- Board Certification Information (ABP)Information about board certification from the American Board of Periodontology.
- Adams School of Dentistry Graduate Program in PeriodontologyAdams School of Dentistry's Graduate Program in Periodontology website.
Professional Organizations
- Academy of OsseointegrationAcademy of Osseointegration website.
- American Academy of Implant Dentistry (AAID)American Academy of Implant Dentistry website.
- American Academy of PeriodontologyAmerican Academy of Periodontology website.
- American Academy of Restorative DentistryAmerican Academy of Restorative Dentistry website.
- American Dental AssocationAmerican Dental Association website.
- American Dental Education Association (ADEA)Website for the American Dental Education Association. Membership is free to all students, faculty, and staff affiliated with an ADEA member institution.
- International Team for ImplantologyWebsite for International Team for Implantology.
- North Carolina Dental SocietyWebsite for the North Carolina Dental Society.
- North Carolina Society of PeriodontistsWebsite for the North Carolina Society of Periodontists.