Dentistry: Clinical Resources
Created by Health Science Librarians
Clinical Information
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 9th by
Learn how to provide dental care to any patient, regardless of existing medical conditions. Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 9th Edition, has been thoroughly revised to give you the information you need to assess common problems, and make safe and healthy dental management decisions. The new addition includes expanded coverage of women's health issues and introduces a process for developing a medical-risk source. Also, each chapter features vivid illustrations and well-organized tables to give you in-depth details and overall summaries to help you get to the root of your future patients' needs. Logical organization of conditions makes it easy for you to understand and follow the material as you prepare to treat patients. Standardized assessment process helps you to ascertain the severity and stability of common medical disorders. Dental management summary table summarizes important factors for consideration in the dental management of medically compromised patients. Over 400 color images provide a visual guide and highlight key information. Dental management box in each chapter allows you to locate key information for evaluating a medically compromised patient. NEW! Thoroughly revised content provides you with the most current, evidence-based information you need to make dental management decisions. NEW! Evidence-based process for creating a medical-risk score enables you to determine whether the benefit of treatment outweighs the risk of a complication. NEW! Expanded coverage of women's health issues addresses issues specific to women that can impact dental management.
ISBN: 9780323443555Publication Date: 2018
- DynaMedDynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Content is written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis
- VisualDxA point-of-care visual diagnostic clinical decision support system including more than 17,000 dermatology, oral pathology, ophthalmology, public health, drug reaction, and other images; differential builder, travel info, mobile app available. Enter a travel destination to see all currently endemic diseases and/or outbreaks.
Drug Information
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 13th by
More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find the information most relevant to oral healthcare practitioners, including indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug data.
ISBN: 9780323779364Publication Date: 2021
- Facts & Comparisons e-AnswersDrug information, interactions, herbal information, and patient medication handouts are seamlessly updated and can be customized; includes Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction FactsTM, The Review of Natural Products and Med Facts: Patient Information.
- Micromedex (On Campus Only)Search for drug information by drug, disease, or toxicology. Additional tools (accessed via top tabs) provide information about drug interactions; IV compatibility; drug ID; and drug comparisons. NeoFax provides pediatric drug information. Use mobile instructions for off-campus access.
- Natural MedicinesEvidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies including herbal remedies and supplements, with validated rating scales and grades to quickly evaluate quality; comprehensive monographs designed to facilitate clinical decision making. Includes content drawn from the former Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits available.
Patient Information
Patient information in plain language from reliable sources. Free or paid for on your behalf via the Health Sciences Library.
- American Dental Association Evidence-Based Dentistry Patient Education Videos
"Dentists can play these videos chairside to educate patients about the reasoning behind particular clinical treatment decisions." Some videos also available in Spanish.
- KnowYourTeeth [Free Resource]
Consumer health resource from the Academy of General Dentistry (AGD).
- MedlinePlus - Health Information in Multiple Languages
MedlinePlus is a consumer health focused website provided by the National Library of Medicine. Many informational pages are reliably translated into multiple languages. Click on the language you need, then scroll to select the oral health related topic.
- MedlinePlus - Mouth and Teeth [Free Resource]
Collection of consumer health information created and selected by the National Library of Medicine, provides links to patient handouts as well as patient-education multimedia resources. Some resources are available in multiple languages, including Chinese, Spanish, and Russian.
- Mouth Healthy [Free Resource]
Patient information presented by the ADA. Includes information for adults, pregnant women, parents of children, teens, and children.
- National Dental Association Dental Education Center
"Offers shareable materials that may help you better communicate with your patients about common dental issues." All handouts are illustrated with images of Black patients. *Please be aware these free materials were created in partnership with Colgate and all handouts include ads for Colgate."
- National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research - Oral Health [Free Resource]
Branch of the National Institute of Health aims to improve the oral, dental, and craniofacial health through research and the distribution of important health information to the American people. Much of the site is also available in Spanish.
- Oral Health Fact Sheets [Free Resource]
Find answers to your questions about oral health with the California Dental Association’s patient fact sheets in English, Spanish, Chinese, Russian, Hmong and Vietnamese.
Connect with us
