Dentistry: Research
Created by Health Science Librarians
Research Collaboration
HSL librarians and staff have expertise in supporting all phases of the research lifecycle, including support for:
- Preparing Grants – Locate funding sources and conduct background literature reviews.
- Auto Alerts – Establish database alerts for automatic notification on latest news (e.g., new research or grant opportunities).
- Machine Learning & Artificial Intelligence – Apply machine learning tools to prioritize literature and reduce the burden of screening literature search results manually.
- Evidence Synthesis – Distill research identified from a broad literature search to best available evidence; facilitate process of converting data from publications into evidence summaries.
- Systematic Reviews – Conduct expert searches, identify tools for managing references and screening literature, draft methods sections, and select appropriate journals for publication.
- Plain Language Summaries – Develop abstracts and summaries in lay language that are accessible to healthcare consumers.
- Abstract Optimization – Draft abstracts to ensure your research is discovered by others in bibliographic databases (e.g., PubMed MEDLINE) by leveraging librarian knowledge on proper keywords and indexing terms.
- Research Impact – Through visualization of data, illustrate institutional and author collaboration, research topics being investigated, and citation impact.
Contact the Health Sciences Library or the dentistry librarian to learn more about any of the above options or with any research questions.
Create Your ORCID iD
An ORCID iD is a unique digital identifier that definitively ties your scholarly work to you, and can help increase recognition of your research.
Create your ORCID iD & connect it with UNC. It's free and only takes a minute to register and connect.
- Use your ORCID iD in manuscript submissions, grant applications, and more.
- Increase visibility of your research by adding your ORCID iD to your website, email signature, and publications.
eBooks
Clinical Research in Oral Health by
Clinical Research in Oral Health surveys the essentials of clinical research in oral health, anchoring these principles within the specific context of the oral health arena. Addressing research questions exclusively applicable to dentistry and oral health, the book thoroughly illustrates the principles and practice of oral health clinical research. Clinical Research in Oral Health also clarifies the framework of regulatory issues and presents emerging concepts in clinical translation, relating the research principles to clinical improvement.
ISBN: 9780813815299Publication Date: 2010-03-16
Research Writing in Dentistry by
Research Writing in Dentistry provides you with a uniquely practical guide to selecting, designing, and writing up a research project. Of particular use to the dental student, both pre- and post-doctoral, this is a no-nonsense guide that presents concrete advice and information that can be absorbed quickly and effectively. By asking simple questions, this useful resource enables you to develop, analyze and present a program of research work. It begins with the basic principles of research: what it is and how to select a topic and plan a program. It then moves on to discuss study design, methods and materials, presenting results and undertaking a literature review. It concludes with a section on basic statistics and analysis. Precepts and guidance are illustrated throughout with examples from dentistry.
ISBN: 9780813807621Publication Date: 2010-02-09
Statistical and Methodological Aspects of Oral Health Research by
Statistical and Methodological Aspects of Oral Health Research provides oral health researchers with an overview of the methodological aspects that are important in planning, conducting and analyzing their research projects whilst also providing biostatisticians with an idea of the statistical problems that arise when tackling oral health research questions. This collection presents critical reflections on oral health research and offers advice on practical aspects of setting up research whilst introducing the reader to basic as well as advanced statistical methodology. Features: An introduction to research methodology and an exposition of the state of the art. A variety of examples from oral health research. Contributions from well-known oral health researchers, epidemiologists and biostatisticians, all of whom have rich experience in this area. Recent developments in statistical methodology prompted by a variety of dental applications. Presenting both an introduction to research methodology and an exposition of the latest advances in oral health research, this book will appeal both beginning and experienced oral health researchers as well as biostatisticians and epidemiologists.
ISBN: 9780470744116Publication Date: 2009-03-06
General Resources
Connect with us
