Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

Legal Treatises by Subject

In this guide you will find general resources for various fields of law arranged alphabetically.

Health Care Law

American Health Lawyers Association. Health Law Practice Guide. 2nd ed. Eagan, MN : Thomson/West, 2008- (2019 Supplement) [KF3821 .H435 2nd] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

A multi-volume treatise, this practice guide is fairly comprehensive in its coverage. Major topic areas include: operational issues for health care facilities, patient care delivery issues, payment issues, transactions, and legal concerns in specific health care delivery settings. It also includes an extensive discussion of recent healthcare reform legislation.

Becker, Scott. Health Care Law: A Practical Guide. Matthew Bender & Company, 2012- [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This treatise contains materials designed to aid health care law practice, including analysis of issues and sample forms and agreements. Topics include health care business aspects, licensure, malpractice, patient care issues, and the workings of health insurance. The author specifically notes that the volume can be used by both beginners and experienced practitioners.

Treatise on Health Care Law. Alexander M. Capron and Irwin M. Birnbaum, general editors. Matthew Bender & Company, 2012- [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This treatise was written as a practical guide for attorneys, and attempts to cover the entire range of legal issues that accompany health care practice. Topics include: business aspects of the health care system, labor and employment issues, financial issues, hazardous waste, access to care, medical malpractice, and issues related to patient care.

Health Care Law Sourcebook. Matthew Bender and Company, 2013- [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This book brings together federal laws and regulations related to health care. Topics covered include: Medicare and Medicaid reimbursement, patient confidentiality and non-discrimination, approval of drugs and procedures, antitrust and trade regulation, environmental protection, employment law issues, and other health care laws.

Perlin, Michael L. Mental Disability Law : Civil and Criminal. 2nd ed. Charlottesville, VA : Matthew Bender & Company, 2012- [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This comprehensive work covers the entire body of law which governs the mentally disabled, from civil commitment to mental disability at trial. Both state and federal law is considered, as well as historical materials.

Tennenhouse, Dan J. Attorneys Medical Deskbook. 4th ed. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This deskbook contains medical abbreviations and terminology as well as a “drug finder” to identify drugs and their primary uses. It is oriented around law suits, and focuses on aspects of legal medical cases (such as malpractice), with practical legal strategy and methods used to supplement explanation of issues in law suits.

Louisell, David W. and Williams, Harold. Medical Malpractice. New York, NY : Matthew Bender & Company, 2013- [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

The most frequently cited and respected authority in the field, this national treatise includes the most comprehensive treatment of medical malpractice law, litigation techniques and current developments in the field, both at state and national levels. Key theories of liability, causes of action, defenses, and procedural hurdles, such as screening panels and other pre-filing requirements, are all covered. 

Medical Malpractice : Guide to Medical Issues. Lee S. Goldsmith, editor-in-chief. New York, NY : Matthew Bender & Company, 2013- [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

This treatise assists readers in recognizing departures from standard of care and distinguishing errors in clinical judgment, and provides the medical background needed to handle malpractice cases. Each chapter contains extensive medical information, includign standard of care and potential causes of medical malpractice actions. 

Quicklinks