Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

Legal Treatises by Subject

In this guide you will find general resources for various fields of law arranged alphabetically.

Environmental Law

The Law of Hazardous Waste. Susan M. Cooke, general editor. Matthew Bender & Company, 2013- [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This comprehensive treatise covers both state and federal laws, regulations and cases which deal with hazardous waste management.  Everything from identification of hazardous waste, cleanup requirements, liability, and storage and disposal requirements.

Environmental Science Deskbook. James W. Conrad, Jr., editor. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This text provides easy to understand definitions of environmental law terminology and concepts for those who are not experts in environmental science.  It covers many topics, from statistics and environmental decision making to environmental forensics and health risk assessment.

Grad, Frank P. Treatise on Environmental Law. New York : M. Bender, 1973- [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This treatise is comprehensive in scope, covering climate change, pollution and waste management, land use planning, environmental compliance, attorney’s fees and alternative dispute resolution.  The treatise also contains the text of many major federal environmental laws (statutes and regulatory rules), including the Clean Air Act and the Endangered Species Act of 1973, and includes a list of EPA terms, abbreviations and acronyms.

Malone, Linda A. Environmental Regulation of Land Use. New York, NY : C. Boardman, 1990- (2018 Supplement) [KF5698 .M264] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This treatise covers federal, state and local environmental statutes.  Land preservation and development topics are covered, such as soil conservation, water and air quality, noise control, habitat conservation, and management of coastal areas, wetlands and flood plains.

Manaster, Kenneth A. and Selmi, Daniel P. State Environmental Law. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This text focuses on the environmental statutes and regulations passed by state legislatures and state agencies.  It covers legislative initiatives, administrative trends and judicial decisions affecting state compliance requirements, mainly in the areas of air quality, water quality, hazardous waste management and cleanup  of hazardous wastes from past activities.  The treatise includes a State Reference Guide for each of the 50 states for further research.

Novick, Sheldon M. et al. Law of Environmental Protection. Eagan, MN : West, 2011- (2018 Supplement) [KF3775 .L392] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

Law of Environmental Protection provides in depth analysis of statutes and regulations governed by the Environmental Protection Agency.  It begins with a discussion of principles and methods, then an overview of EPA programs and roles.

Beck, Robert E. and Kelley, Amy K. Waters and Water Rights. 3rd ed. New Providence, NJ : LexisNexis, 2009- (2019 Supplement) [KF645 .W38 3rd] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This multi-volume text covers the complex field of water law, including riparianism, prior appropriation, groundwater law, distribution, the public right to water, federal and Indian rights, interstate allocation, international issues, environmental controls, and river basin and state surveys.

Rodgers, William H. and Burleson, Elizabeth. Environmental Law. Eagan, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2016- (2019 Supplement) [KF775 .R59 2016] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This text covers key environmental laws, regulations & decisions regarding air and water, pesticides and toxic substances, and hazardous waste.

Quicklinks