Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

Legal Treatises by Subject

In this guide you will find general resources for various fields of law arranged alphabetically.

Constitutional Law

Chemerinsky, Erwin. Constitutional Law: Principles and Policies. New York, NY : Wolters Kluwer, 2015 [KF4550 .C427 2015] (Reserve Room).

Chemerinsky’s single volume treatise, written primarily for students, covers the principles of constitutional law. Topics such as governmental powers, limits on state powers, due process, fundamental rights, and certain Amendments are discussed in depth.

Congressional Research Service. The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation. Washington, DC : U.S. Government Printing Office, 2013 [Y 1.1/3:112-9] (Microfishe Documents Collection) [Full text available online via the GPO].

This multi-volume resource contains the text of the constitution with in-depth analytical annotations. The annotations discuss major issues that have been argued in court over the sections, major Supreme Court cases, and history of the constitution.

Friesen, Jennifer. State Constitutional Law: Litigating Individual Rights, Claims, and Defenses. New York : LexisNexis Pub., 2006 (2015 Supplement) [KF4750.Z95 F75 2006].

This treatise collects constitutional law decisions from all 50 states, and compares them to both other state and US Supreme Court rulings.

Rich, William J. Modern Constitutional Law. Eagan, MN : West, 2011 (2018-19 Supplement) [KF4550.A75 2011] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

Modern Constitutional Law addresses a broad range of constitutional issues, including Native American Law, Juvenile Law, military justice, and full faith and credit. Organized around non-traditional subject categorizations while still covering traditional materials, this work is designed to be accessible to attorneys and lay-persons alike.

Rotunda, Ronald D. and Nowak, John E. Treatise on Constitutional Law : Substance and Procedure. 5th ed. Eagan, MN : West Thompson/Reuters, 2012- (2019 Supplement) [KF4550 .R63 2012] (Reserve Room).

This multi-volume treatise covers the vast topic of constitutional law with particular attention to areas which have changed significantly in recent years as well as historical grounding. It is more in-depth than the student-focused, single-volume treatise by the same authors.

Smolla, Rodney A. and Allen, George A. Smolla and Nimmer on Freedom of Speech. 3rd ed. New York, NY : Clark Boardman Callaghan, 1996- (2019 update) [KF4772 .N54 3rd] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

This treatise provides in-depth coverage and expert analysis of free speech and free press First Amendment issues, including history, theory, doctrine, and insights into cases and decisions. It includes cross-references with the text and in footnotes, which contain full citations and parallel citations to other materials. 

Quicklinks