Civil Actions Against the United States, its Agencies, Officers and Employees. 2nd ed. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2002- (2024 Update) [KF9065 .C583] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise discusses civil actions against entities of the federal government.
Cook, Joseph G. and Sobieski, John L. Civil Rights Actions. Newark, NJ : LexisNexis, 1983- [KF4749 .C65 (2023 Update)] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty (2024 Update)].
This treatise analyzes every aspect of civil rights for background, insight, and perspective. This work features broad coverage as well as case-critical information, from statutes that Congress enacted in the late 1950's to the latest developments in civil rights legislation.
Nahmod, Sheldon H. Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Litigation : the Law of Section 1983. 4th ed. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 1940- (2023 Update) [KF4749 .N333] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise provides in-depth discussion and analysis of the development and preparation of a Section 1983 claim, potential defenses, and available damages.
Smolla, Rodney A. Federal Civil Rights Acts. 3rd ed. Eagan, MN : West/Thomson Reuters, 2011- (2024 Update) [KF4749 .A745] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise is organized by type of action. Coverage of this title extends to analysis of the Americans with Disabilities Act and the Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993. It provides numerous references to primary and secondary sources, including law review articles. It also includes an index and table of cases as finding aids.
Schwartz, Martin A. Section 1983 Litigation : Claims and Defenses. 4th ed. New York, NY : Wolters Kluwer, 2010- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Cheetah to UNC Students and Faculty].
This treatise provides analysis of every aspect of the statute from the plaintiffs' and defendants' side of the courtroom - from direction on potential to considerations about choice of forum. This reference also gives you citations to state and district court decisions and circuit-by-circuit breakdowns of leading decisions. Plus, you'll explore constitutional rights enforceable under Section 1983, every facet of municipal liability and qualified immunity, bifurcating claims against officers and municipalities, and positions on open issues.
Steinglass, Steven H. Section 1983 Litigation in State Courts. New York, NY : C. Boardman, 1987- (2023 Update) [KF1325.C58 S744] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise provides specific definitions explanations, case citations, checklists, and tactical insights into using Section 1983 in the state courts. Pleading requirements, state justiciability requirements, administrative remedies, immunities, damages, removal, attorney fees and state claims are examined in detail.
Bodensteiner, Ivan E. and Levinson, Rosalie Berger. State and Local Government Civil Rights Liability. Deerfield, IL : Callaghan, 1987- [KF1325.C58 B63 (2023 Update)] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty (2024 Update)].
This treatise considers the grounds on which state and local government entities and their officials may be subject to liability under major civil rights statutes. It advises on jurisdiction, immunities, types of conduct, regulated procedure, enforcement, proof of claims, defenses, remedies, and even attorneys' fees.
Silver, Isidore. Police Civil Liability. New York, NY : Matthew Bender & Company, 2013- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise is a comprehensive guide to the personal injury and civil rights aspects of police misconduct with extensive forms.
Mushlin, Michael B. Rights of Prisoners. 5th ed. Eagan, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2017- (2023 Update) [KF9731 .G6] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise provides practitioners, judges, and corrections officials with a balanced and comprehensive treatment of prisoners' rights issues. It covers the law affecting prisoners and their rights, and the latest developments resulting from the increase in prison litigation.
Moulding, Karen B. Sexual Orientation and the Law. New York, NY : C. Boardman Company, 2012- (2023 Update) [KF4754.5 .S493] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise explains the effect of the law on gay and lesbian clients in the areas of employment discrimination, civil rights, family law, immigration, criminal defense, and a wide variety of other areas. A collection of problem solving strategies, techniques, and materials are included in the work.
Avery, Michael et al. Police Misconduct : Law and Litigation. 3rd ed. New York, NY : Clark Boardman Callaghan, 1996- (2023 Update) [KF9409 .A98] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise examines each step in the police misconduct proceedings process, from initial case evaluation to the court's charge to the jury. Subjects covered include: actionable conduct under federal civil rights acts; jurisdiction and liability of particular defendants; case investigation and evaluation; drafting complaints; jury selection and instructions; absolute and qualified immunity defenses; effect of prior court proceedings; discovery; notice requirements; damages; attorney fees; voir dire; and trial.
Schwemm, Robert G. Housing Discrimination Law and Litigation. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
Offering a point-by-point analysis of the field of housing discrimination law, this treatise presents the background of modern discrimination laws to the most recent fair housing cases and litigation. This treatise includes: a detailed study of the Fair Housing Act, with analysis of its major provision and enforcement; discussions of proof and evidence, segregation, and different federal laws arising in housing discrimination cases; litigation tips for plaintiffs and defendants; and complaints to HUD and Justice Department enforcement.
